SAT Scores for Florida Colleges, School by School (2026-27)

Florida public universities generally require SAT, ACT or CLT scores for the standard first-year route. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.

The table covers the twelve State University System schools and the private University of Miami. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show separate Bright Futures test thresholds for 2027 and 2028 graduates.

Got your teen's October SAT score? Compare it to the range at each school below. If it falls short, the next date is the December 5, 2026 SAT: register by November 20 (late registration by November 24), and scores release December 18. UF, FSU, UCF and USF all superscore. Read should your teen retake the SAT on December 5, or book your free Strategy Session and we'll map the gap to your teen's colleges. Trusted by 200+ families, with 70 Google reviews.

Florida college score profiles and cohort notes

SchoolSAT profile / cohortACTCLTAcceptance rate
University of Florida1420 to 1520 · 2026 admitted32-35Not published19.8% · 2026 (calculated)
Florida State University1380 to 1480 · Fall 2026 admitted31-34Not publishedNot reported in cited profile
University of Miami11350 to 1480 · Fall 2026 admitted28-33Not published22% (2026)
University of Central Florida1310 to 1420 · Fall 2026 admitted28-3291 to 101Not reported in cited profile
University of South Florida1290 to 1420 · Fall 2026 admitted28-3292 to 100Not reported in cited profile
Florida Polytechnic University2Average 1215 · cohort not statedAverage 26Not publishedNot reported in cited profile
Florida International University31250 to 1390 · Fall Direct 2025 admitted27-3186 to 93Not reported in cited profile
New College of Florida1100 to 1320 · Fall 2026 admitted22-29Not publishedNot reported in cited profile
University of North Florida1090 to 1280 · Fall 202623 to 2955 to 83Not reported in cited profile
Florida Atlantic University1090 to 1270 · Summer/Fall 2026 admitted22 to 2860-84Not reported in cited profile
Florida A&M University1080 to 1230 · Fall 2025 admitted22-2761-73Not reported in cited profile
Florida Gulf Coast University4Average 1140 · cohort not statedAverage 23Average 76Not reported in cited profile
University of West Florida5970 to 1160 · Fall 2025 enrolled19 to 25Not published54.6% · Fall 2025 (calculated)
Bright Futures: Academic Scholars (100% tuition)2027: 1330; 2028: 135029 (2027 and 2028)2027: 95; 2028: 96State scholarship threshold
Bright Futures: Medallion Scholars (75% tuition)2027: 1190; 2028: 12002027: 24; 2028: 252027: 82; 2028: 83State scholarship threshold

Cohort notes: Miami requires the SAT or ACT for Fall 2026 (exceptions for performance, portfolio, and non-U.S. applicants); its range is Fall 2026 admitted. Florida Poly and FGCU report averages here, with no cohort year attached to those figures on the cited pages. FIU's range is Fall Direct 2025; Early Fall Direct 2025 is 1110 to 1190. FAU combines Summer/Fall 2026 admits. UWF reports Fall 2025 enrolled score submitters. These are not interchangeable measures.

For the class of 2028: the state raises the qualifying lines to 1350 SAT (96 CLT) for Florida Academic Scholars and 1200 SAT (25 ACT, 83 CLT) for Florida Medallion Scholars. Students graduating in 2027 keep the current 1330 and 1190 lines. Full breakdown in our handbook walkthrough.

Next step

UF is 1420–1520. FSU is 1380–1480. Which number is your teen's? Pick the Florida colleges on their list and get a target score plus the gap from today's score in under a minute.

Find my teen's target score

Compare Florida colleges

Narrowing your teen’s college list? Compare admissions profiles, programs, campus life and Bright Futures costs side by side.

UF vs FSU · UCF vs USF · FIU vs FAU

See all Florida college comparisons →

School by school

University of Florida: 1420 to 1520

UF reports a 1420 to 1520 middle 50% SAT and 4.5 to 4.7 GPA for its Class of 2030, entering in 2026. It admitted 19,012 of 95,986 applicants, approximately 19.8%. Use those figures as context for the full application.

Florida State University: 1380 to 1480

FSU’s Fall 2026 middle 50% is 1380 to 1480 SAT and 4.3 to 4.6 core GPA for all admitted students. The cited profile does not report a matching acceptance rate. FSU describes a holistic review; no single criterion guarantees admission.

University of Miami: 1350 to 1480

Miami requires the SAT or ACT for Fall 2026 applicants (exceptions: performance, portfolio, and non-U.S. applicants). Its Fall 2026 admitted middle 50% is 1350–1480, with a 22% admission rate. Check the policy for the application cycle and program.

University of Central Florida: 1310 to 1420

UCF’s Fall 2026 admitted-freshman mid-range is 1310 to 1420 SAT and 4.11 to 4.57 GPA, updated August 2026. The cited profile also lists ACT 28 to 32 and CLT 91 to 101. It does not provide a Fall 2026 acceptance rate.

University of South Florida: 1290 to 1420

USF separates fall and summer admission profiles. Fall 2026 is 1290 to 1420 SAT; Summer 2026 is 1140 to 1230. Check the entry term alongside GPA, curriculum rigor and program requirements.

Florida Polytechnic University: average 1215

Florida Poly’s current facts page reports an average SAT of 1215, ACT of 26 and high-school GPA of 3.96. It does not attach a cohort year to those averages or label them as a middle 50%. Use its admissions requirements to plan the application.

Florida International University: 1250 to 1390

FIU’s cited pathway tables are labeled 2025. Fall Direct’s admitted SAT middle 50% is 1250 to 1390; Early Fall Direct is 1110 to 1190. Early Fall begins in summer and has coursework conditions. A score alone does not determine the pathway offer.

New College of Florida: 1100 to 1320

New College reports a Fall 2026 admitted middle 50% of 1100 to 1320 SAT, 22 to 29 ACT and 3.7 to 4.4 GPA. Its review also considers coursework, writing, activities and other factors. The range is not a guarantee.

University of North Florida: 1090 to 1280

UNF’s Fall 2026 mid-range is 1090 to 1280 SAT and 3.96 to 4.51 GPA. Summer 2026 has a separate profile. Grades and course preparation remain important; the SAT is not a substitute for the rest of the record.

Florida Atlantic University: 1090 to 1270

FAU’s 1090 to 1270 SAT middle 50% combines Summer/Fall 2026 admitted students. The same profile reports ACT 22 to 28, CLT 60 to 84 and core GPA 3.66 to 4.29. Some programs have additional requirements.

Florida A&M University: 1080 to 1230

FAMU reports 1080 to 1230 SAT, 22 to 27 ACT and 61 to 73 CLT for the middle 50% of Fall 2025 admits. It explicitly describes these as profile ranges rather than strict minimums.

Florida Gulf Coast University: average 1140

FGCU’s freshman page reports averages: SAT 1140, ACT 23, CLT 76 and GPA 4.16. It does not attach a cohort year to that table. An average cannot be read as the lower or upper end of an admitted middle 50%.

University of West Florida: 970 to 1160 (enrolled)

UWF’s 2025-26 Common Data Set reports a Fall 2025 enrolled-student SAT middle 50% of 970 to 1160 and ACT 19 to 25. That is a different population from an admitted-student profile. Its C1 figures give 6,090 admits from 11,145 applicants, approximately 54.6%.

Where the two Bright Futures scores sit

For 2027 graduates, the standard Bright Futures SAT score (1330 / 1190) is 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS. For 2028, they are 1350 and 1200. The FAS scores sit within the cited UCF and USF fall ranges, below the lower ends of UF’s and FSU’s ranges. Those lower ends are not admission cutoffs. Scholarship eligibility also requires GPA, coursework, approved hours, the application and other conditions. At Florida public universities, FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees; housing and meals are separate.

For the class of 2028: the state raises the qualifying lines to 1350 SAT (96 CLT) for Florida Academic Scholars and 1200 SAT (25 ACT, 83 CLT) for Florida Medallion Scholars. Students graduating in 2027 keep the current 1330 and 1190 lines. Full breakdown in our handbook walkthrough.

The misconception: every Florida public admits at about the same score

Florida universities publish different score profiles, but the cohort matters as much as the number. UF’s admitted-student range cannot be compared directly with UWF’s enrolled-student range or FGCU’s average. Start with the school and entry term, then consider grades, course rigor and program requirements.

Quick answers

Which Florida universities require the SAT?

Florida public universities generally require an SAT, ACT or CLT score for the standard first-year route. Some alternative pathways, including qualifying Florida high-school graduates with an A.A. through dual enrollment, have different rules. The University of Miami (private) requires the SAT or ACT for Fall 2026 applicants, with limited exceptions. Check the university's instructions for your application cycle.

What SAT score earns Bright Futures?

For 2027 graduates, the standard SAT thresholds are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS. For 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. For 2027, the ACT alternatives are FAS 29 / FMS 24 and CLT 95 / 82. For 2028, ACT is 29 / 25 and CLT 96 / 83. GPA, coursework, approved volunteer or paid work hours, the FFAA and other conditions also apply. The testing deadline is August 31 of graduation year, or January 31 for mid-year graduates. Full rules on our Bright Futures requirements page.

Which Florida college is easiest to get into?

This table cannot reliably rank admission chances because it mixes different cohorts and types of statistics. Compare your teen’s full academic record with the relevant school, program and entry term to build a balanced college list.

Are these ranges cutoffs?

No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows instead show averages or enrolled-student statistics, as labeled. Neither a position within a range nor a score above it guarantees admission or merit aid.

Sources

University sources are linked below. Read the cohort notes with every figure; statewide policy information is available from the Board of Governors. School sources: UF, FSU, UCF, USF, Miami, Florida Poly, FIU, New College, UNF, FAU, FAMU, FGCU, UWF. Bright Futures thresholds from the Florida Department of Education award chart. Reviewed September 11, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.

Admissions and scholarship sources checked September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep. Each row retains its source’s cohort or notes where a year is not stated.

Use the school profiles to choose a starting target. A free 45 to 60 minute Strategy Session turns your teen’s current score, college list and test dates into a prep plan: book yours here.

Which range is your teen actually in?

Free 45 to 60 minute Strategy Session. Their score today, the target for their schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session