← All Florida colleges

Florida Atlantic University

Middle 50% SAT
1090
to
1270
Acceptance
Not reported in the cited admissions profile
Typical GPA
3.66 to 4.29 core

Admissions and scholarship information checked September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep.

FAU reports a middle 50% SAT of 1090 to 1270 for Summer/Fall 2026 admitted students combined. We recommend 1200 as an initial planning target, adjusted for the intended program. It is not an admission requirement or guarantee.

The numbers

Middle 50% SAT1090 to 1270 (Summer/Fall 2026 admitted students)
Middle 50% CLT60 to 84
Core GPA3.66 to 4.29
Acceptance rateNot reported in the cited Summer/Fall 2026 profile.
Test requiredSAT, ACT or CLT on the standard first-year route; see alternative pathway requirements.

Sources checked September 11, 2026: FAU official admitted-student profile and the August 2026 Bright Futures Student Handbook, Chapter 1: eligibility and Chapter 2: funding. These are admitted-student profiles, not enrolled-class statistics or admission cutoffs. FAU also reports ACT 22 to 28 and CLT 60 to 84 for this combined cohort.

Check the intended FAU program

FAU lists additional admission requirements for several programs, including nursing, engineering, architecture and the Wilkes Honors College. Check the intended program’s published requirements rather than assuming the university-wide profile is its individual standard.

What the middle 50% means for your teen

The 1090 to 1270 range describes the middle half of Summer/Fall 2026 admitted students combined. Roughly a quarter scored below the lower end and a quarter above the upper end. A 1200 target is our planning recommendation; a higher score alone does not settle the admission decision.

The Bright Futures overlap

The 2027 FMS SAT threshold of 1190 and the 2028 threshold of 1200 both fall within FAU’s combined Summer/Fall 2026 admitted middle 50%. That overlap is useful for planning, not proof that one test result secures both outcomes. For 2027 graduates, the standard SAT thresholds are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS; for 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees at FAU. GPA, coursework, approved hours, the FFAA and other eligibility conditions also apply. Housing, meals and other costs are separate. Check the requirements for your graduation year and our handbook walkthrough.

The misconception: the university-wide numbers are the bar for every FAU program

A university-wide middle 50% is a summary of admitted students, not an average of program admission cutoffs. FAU identifies programs with additional requirements. Read those requirements directly and use the overall profile as context.

Quick answers

Is FAU test-optional?

The standard first-year route requires an SAT, ACT or CLT score. Review FAU’s official requirements for score submission and any alternative pathway that applies to your situation. Eligible students earning a Florida high-school diploma and an A.A. through dual enrollment should check the university’s separate pathway instructions.

What SAT score do admitted FAU students have?

FAU reports SAT 1090 to 1270 for the middle 50% of Summer/Fall 2026 admits combined. The same profile lists ACT 22 to 28, CLT 60 to 84 and recalculated core GPA 3.66 to 4.29. Keep the combined-cohort label when comparing FAU with fall-only profiles.

Do all FAU majors use the same bar?

Some programs have additional requirements. Use FAU’s program-specific admissions links to check the intended major. The overall SAT range does not tell you the required score, prerequisites or supplemental materials for every program.

How does the Bright Futures target fit an FAU plan?

A 1190 meets the standard FMS SAT threshold for 2027 graduates; 2028 graduates need 1200. Both scores sit within FAU’s combined Summer/Fall 2026 admitted range. GPA, coursework, approved hours and the FFAA still matter for the scholarship, and FAU admission remains a separate decision.

Closing the gap

Build a testing plan with the Map, Master, Mock method: pinpoint the sub-topics costing points, train them live, then rehearse with full mock SATs until the real test feels familiar.

Compare FAU with your other options

Compare admissions profiles, programs, campus differences and Bright Futures costs before building your college list.

See all Florida college comparisons.

Planning for scholarship eligibility? Start with the Bright Futures requirements for your graduation year, estimate your Bright Futures GPA, then check the score, GPA and approved hours together.

Go deeper

Compare every school at SAT Scores for Florida Colleges, check the Bright Futures Calculator, or book a free Strategy Session.

Comparing along the coast? Check USF, FIU, and FGCU.

What Bright Futures is worth here

At Florida public universities, a 1330 SAT (Florida Academic Scholars) pays 100% of tuition and applicable fees, about $6,381 per year. A 1190 (Medallion) pays 75%. Check your teen's eligibility with the free calculator.

Want the exact score plan for this school?

Book the free Strategy Session. You leave with your teen's target score, their gap, and a 6 to 12 week plan. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session