Florida college comparisons / UF vs FAU

UF vs FAU: admissions, cost & the right fit

How do you compare a UF reach with a local or honors-focused FAU plan?

For Florida families · Sources checked September 11, 2026 · Profile years and populations labeled below

UF’s fall admitted SAT profile is substantially higher than FAU’s combined summer/fall profile. That makes the application strategy different, but it does not tell a family whether a residential UF experience or a specific FAU pathway is the better investment.

What the admission profiles actually tell you

Keep the ambitious application separate from the financial decision. A local FAU plan can look different once transport and time are included; an honors plan in Jupiter may not have the same commute as a Boca Raton plan.

MeasureUniversity of FloridaFlorida Atlantic University
Published SAT range1420–15201090–1270
Published GPA range4.5–4.73.66–4.29
Who is included?Fall 2026 admitted students, Class of 2030Summer/Fall 2026 admitted first-year students, combined profile
Primary sourceRead the official profileRead the official profile

Swipe the table on a small screen. These are admitted profiles, not enrolled cohorts, application cutoffs or your student’s odds. GPA calculations differ by university and are not the Bright Futures GPA. The population and source labels above are part of the comparison; do not separate them from the numbers.

What does your SAT mean for UF vs FAU?

A 1300, 1350 or 1400 can mean something different at each university. These examples locate a score within the published profile; they do not estimate acceptance probabilities.

SATUFFAU
1000Below the published rangeBelow the published range
1100Below the published rangeInside the published range
1200Below the published rangeInside the published range
1300Below the published rangeAbove the published range
1350Below the published rangeAbove the published range
1400Below the published rangeAbove the published range
1500Inside the published rangeAbove the published range
Below 1000 SAT

UF: this entire band is below its published range. FAU: this entire band is below its published range.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1000–1090 SAT

UF: this entire band is below its published range. FAU: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1090–1270.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1100–1190 SAT

UF: this entire band is below its published range. FAU: this entire band is inside its published range.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1200–1290 SAT

UF: this entire band is below its published range. FAU: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1090–1270.

Separate the scholarship target from the admission target and weigh a retake against coursework and deadlines. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1300–1390 SAT

UF: this entire band is below its published range. FAU: this entire band is above its published range.

Separate the scholarship target from the admission target and weigh a retake against coursework and deadlines. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1400–1490 SAT

UF: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1420–1520. FAU: this entire band is above its published range.

Review whether another test is the best use of your time alongside grades, applications and program requirements. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1500–1600 SAT

UF: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1420–1520. FAU: this entire band is above its published range.

Review whether another test is the best use of your time alongside grades, applications and program requirements. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

Check your exact score:

At 1350: UF — below its published range; FAU — above its published range.

Plan the application and the last useful test

UF

2027 entry: binding Early Decision October 15, 2026 (materials October 22); Early Action November 1 (materials November 8); Regular Decision January 15, 2027 (materials January 22).

Official dates and application requirements

FAU

Current posted schedule, checked September 11, 2026: Early Action October 15, materials October 22, latest scores November 20; rolling March 12. Merit and regular nursing/pre-architecture consideration January 15. The table omits the entry year; confirm the cycle in the application portal.

Official dates and application requirements

These Florida public universities require an accepted standardized test for first-year admission. Check the school’s current SAT, ACT or CLT reporting instructions, superscoring rules and latest accepted test date before booking a retake. An application deadline may be earlier than a final score deadline; a scholarship or specialized program may close sooner.

Bright Futures changes tuition—not the whole college bill

For 2027 high-school graduates, the SAT targets are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS. For 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. A 1300 clears the FMS SAT target in both years; a 1350 or 1400 clears the FAS SAT target. GPA, approved hours and all other requirements still apply.

At an eligible public university, FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees. Housing, food, transport and personal expenses remain. The budgets below are the universities’ published 2026–27 Florida-resident on-campus estimates before aid. Their credit loads differ, so these totals are not a normalized price ranking.

SchoolBefore-aid budgetPublished basisSource
UF$25,83030 creditsOfficial budget
FAU$31,030Published full-time budget; credit basis not specified hereOfficial budget

Illustrative annual budget remaining after Bright Futures

Where the budget gives a credit load, the calculations below subtract a matching fall/spring award from the published on-campus budget. These are planning estimates, not bills or financial-aid offers. They include living expenses and exclude other aid; rounded budget figures can leave small tuition differences.

School / annual loadWith FASWith FMSSource
UF (30 credits)$19,394$21,003Award rules
FAUUse the award notice for the actual credit load; the published budget does not specify a matching credit basis here.Award rules

FAU: Awards adjust to actual eligible enrollment. FAS covers eligible tuition and applicable fees; FMS covers 75%. Compare the resulting award with the chosen housing budget and any charges the scholarship excludes.

Build your cost after Bright Futures

Use the university’s award notice for your actual credit load: subtract that Bright Futures amount and other confirmed grants from your own tuition, housing and living budget. Do not subtract a 30-credit scholarship from a 26- or 28-credit budget. Loans are financing, not discounts.

Use our Bright Futures scholarship calculator to explore the scholarship side, then compare the living arrangements the family would actually choose.

Before estimating scholarship coverage, review the Bright Futures requirements by graduation year and Bright Futures GPA calculator. Then use the eligibility calculator to check the relevant inputs.

Look beyond the university name

Compare UF’s intended degree with the actual FAU alternative: general admission, Freshman Direct Admit nursing, or an honors curriculum. Wilkes Honors College is in Jupiter, so do not assume it is simply a smaller version of the Boca Raton experience.

UF: program questions

Engineering applicants should compare the actual degree curriculum, first-year math sequence and opportunities to join projects. Business students should distinguish the accounting degree from other business paths.

Read the program’s own requirements

Campus and location

Gainesville is the location to visit when comparing a residential UF experience with a metropolitan campus. Test the route between housing, classes and activities rather than assuming every destination is walkable.

FAU: program questions

Compare the Freshman Direct Admit nursing track separately from general admission. For honors, distinguish the Wilkes Honors College in Jupiter from honors opportunities in Boca Raton; campus and curriculum are part of that choice.

Read the program’s own requirements

Campus and location

Boca Raton and Jupiter are different campus choices. A family comparing a local FAU plan with moving away should price the actual campus, transportation and housing arrangement, not only resident tuition.

How large will the classes feel?

Ask both departments for typical enrollment in the first-year courses your student would take, plus lab, discussion and upper-division sections. A university-wide student–faculty ratio is not average class size. Ask to see a normal first-year course schedule as well as any honors options.

Use a visit to test the weekly routine

Walk from likely housing to a required class, find tutoring and advising, and ask how students access projects or placements. For a commuter, add travel time and parking to the schedule. Internship access is useful only if the student can meet the requirements and make the journey.

Turn UF vs FAU into a plan for your teen

How do you compare a UF reach with a local or honors-focused FAU plan? Bring your student’s current score report, grades, intended major, graduation year and realistic housing budget. We can help separate the next useful testing milestone from decisions that depend on program fit or admissions review.

Get a clear next step

Book a free 45-minute Zoom strategy session to discuss your student’s SAT goals and a practical prep plan. You do not need a perfect college list to start.

Book your free strategy session

UF college profile · FAU college profile

Sources, dates and how to use this comparison

Reviewed September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep. University and state sources govern admission and scholarship decisions. Planning advice on this page is our interpretation. Profile years are labeled rather than silently mixing admitted and enrolled statistics.

  1. UF admissions profile
  2. UF application deadlines
  3. UF 2026–27 cost of attendance
  4. UF program requirements
  5. FAU admissions profile
  6. FAU application deadlines
  7. FAU 2026–27 cost of attendance
  8. FAU program requirements
  9. Florida Bright Futures initial eligibility handbook

Explore related comparisons

See all Florida college comparisons

Florida Test Prep · Home