← All Florida colleges

University of South Florida

Middle 50% SAT
1290
to
1420
Acceptance
Not reported in the cited admissions profile
Typical GPA
4.13 to 4.58 weighted

Admissions and scholarship information checked September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep.

USF’s Fall 2026 admitted profile reports a SAT range of 1290 to 1420. We recommend 1350 as an initial planning target, not a USF admission requirement or guarantee. USF publishes a separate summer profile, so the entry term matters.

The numbers

Middle 50% SAT1290 to 1420 (Fall 2026 admitted students)
Middle 50% ACT28 to 32
Weighted GPA4.13 to 4.58
Acceptance rateNot reported in the cited 2026 admissions profile.
Test requiredSAT, ACT or CLT on the standard first-year route; see alternative pathway requirements.

Sources checked September 11, 2026: USF official admitted-student profile and the August 2026 Bright Futures Student Handbook, Chapter 1: eligibility and Chapter 2: funding. These are admitted-student profiles, not enrolled-class statistics or admission cutoffs.

What the middle 50% means for your teen

USF labels 1290 to 1420 as the Fall 2026 admitted mid-range. Its Summer 2026 profile is different: SAT 1140 to 1230 and GPA 3.71 to 4.29. Use the appropriate term when comparing offers or planning a retake. Scores inside a published range do not establish a student’s admission probability.

The Bright Futures overlap

The 1330 and 1350 FAS SAT thresholds both sit within USF’s Fall 2026 admitted score range. That makes the scholarship goal useful to consider alongside the admissions plan, while keeping the two decisions separate. For 2027 graduates, the standard SAT thresholds are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS; for 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees at USF. GPA, coursework, approved hours, the FFAA and other eligibility conditions also apply. Housing, meals and other costs are separate. Check the requirements for your graduation year and our handbook walkthrough.

The misconception: USF is the local safety school

A university close to home is not automatically a safety school. USF says it considers grades, curriculum rigor and test scores, and fall is its most competitive entry term. Review the full record and possible start terms before deciding how USF fits a balanced list.

Quick answers

Is USF test-optional?

The standard first-year route requires an SAT, ACT or CLT score. Review USF’s official requirements for score submission and any alternative pathway that applies to your situation. Eligible students earning a Florida high-school diploma and an A.A. through dual enrollment should check the university’s separate pathway instructions.

What SAT score do admitted USF students have?

USF reports a Fall 2026 admitted SAT mid-range of 1290 to 1420. Its Summer 2026 admitted range is 1140 to 1230. Our 1350 planning target refers to the fall profile and is not a guarantee of admission.

Does meeting the Bright Futures score requirement guarantee USF admission?

No. Meeting a Bright Futures score threshold does not secure a USF offer. A 1330 or 1350 sits within the Fall 2026 admitted range, but USF also reviews grades and curriculum rigor. Scholarship eligibility separately depends on graduation year and the other Bright Futures requirements.

What GPA do USF admits carry?

USF reports a GPA range of 4.13 to 4.58 for Fall 2026 for the cited admitted cohort. This describes the middle of that group, not a minimum for every applicant. Course rigor and grades remain part of admission review. The university’s GPA calculation can differ from a report-card GPA or the Bright Futures GPA.

Closing the gap

Use a diagnostic to identify the skills behind the score gap, then plan practice around the available test dates. Our Map, Master, Mock method combines targeted practice, live coaching and full-length mock tests. Progress varies by student; a published admissions range cannot predict the number of prep cycles needed.

Compare USF with your other options

Compare admissions profiles, programs, campus differences and Bright Futures costs before building your college list.

See all Florida college comparisons.

Planning for scholarship eligibility? Start with the Bright Futures requirements for your graduation year, estimate your Bright Futures GPA, then check the score, GPA and approved hours together.

Go deeper

Compare every school on one page at SAT Scores for Florida Colleges, check your teen's scholarship position with the Bright Futures Calculator, or book a free Strategy Session and leave with their exact USF target and a week-by-week plan.

Also on your teen's list? Compare UCF, FIU, and FAU.

Student example: Jonathan improved from 1020 to 1220 in eight weeks. That is his individual result, not a prediction for another student. Read his family’s story.

What Bright Futures is worth here

At Florida public universities, a 1330 SAT (Florida Academic Scholars) pays 100% of tuition and applicable fees, about $6,381 per year. A 1190 (Medallion) pays 75%. Check your teen's eligibility with the free calculator.

Want the exact score plan for this school?

Book the free Strategy Session. You leave with your teen's target score, their gap, and a 6 to 12 week plan. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session