Florida college comparisons / USF vs FIU

USF vs FIU: admissions, cost & the right fit

Is a Tampa-area move better than a South Florida pathway?

For Florida families · Sources checked September 11, 2026 · Profile years and populations labeled below

USF versus FIU is a campus-and-pathway decision as much as a score comparison. A student living near FIU may have a very different financial plan from a student moving to a USF campus, even with the same Bright Futures award tier.

What the admission profiles actually tell you

Compare the actual entry term and location in each offer. USF publishes different fall and summer profiles, while the FIU figure here is specifically Fall Direct; those labels should follow the numbers wherever you use them.

MeasureUniversity of South FloridaFlorida International University
Published SAT range1290–14201250–1390
Published GPA range4.13–4.584.10–4.60
Who is included?Fall 2026 admitted profile; published score rangeFall 2025 Fall Direct admitted students; older than the 2026 profiles
Primary sourceRead the official profileRead the official profile

Swipe the table on a small screen. These are admitted profiles, not enrolled cohorts, application cutoffs or your student’s odds. GPA calculations differ by university and are not the Bright Futures GPA. The population and source labels above are part of the comparison; do not separate them from the numbers.

What does your SAT mean for USF vs FIU?

A 1300, 1350 or 1400 can mean something different at each university. These examples locate a score within the published profile; they do not estimate acceptance probabilities.

SATUSFFIU
1000Below the published rangeBelow the published range
1100Below the published rangeBelow the published range
1200Below the published rangeBelow the published range
1300Inside the published rangeInside the published range
1350Inside the published rangeInside the published range
1400Inside the published rangeAbove the published range
1500Above the published rangeAbove the published range
Below 1000 SAT

USF: this entire band is below its published range. FIU: this entire band is below its published range.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1000–1090 SAT

USF: this entire band is below its published range. FIU: this entire band is below its published range.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1100–1190 SAT

USF: this entire band is below its published range. FIU: this entire band is below its published range.

Start with a diagnostic, identify foundational gaps and keep several realistic college options. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1200–1290 SAT

USF: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1290–1420. FIU: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1250–1390.

Separate the scholarship target from the admission target and weigh a retake against coursework and deadlines. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1300–1390 SAT

USF: this entire band is inside its published range. FIU: this entire band is inside its published range.

Separate the scholarship target from the admission target and weigh a retake against coursework and deadlines. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1400–1490 SAT

USF: this band crosses a published range boundary. Compare your exact score with 1290–1420. FIU: this entire band is above its published range.

Review whether another test is the best use of your time alongside grades, applications and program requirements. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

1500–1600 SAT

USF: this entire band is above its published range. FIU: this entire band is above its published range.

Review whether another test is the best use of your time alongside grades, applications and program requirements. Scores inside or above a range never guarantee admission.

Check your exact score:

At 1350: USF — inside its published range; FIU — inside its published range.

Plan the application and the last useful test

USF

2027 entry: Early Action November 2, 2026 (materials November 16); Regular Decision December 16 (materials January 15, 2027); rolling deadline March 1 (materials March 15). Scholarship consideration deadline January 15.

Official dates and application requirements

FIU

2027 entry: complete application and documents November 2, 2026 for the early round; next complete deadline December 16; final complete deadline March 2, 2027. Final decisions scheduled by April 2.

Official dates and application requirements

These Florida public universities require an accepted standardized test for first-year admission. Check the school’s current SAT, ACT or CLT reporting instructions, superscoring rules and latest accepted test date before booking a retake. An application deadline may be earlier than a final score deadline; a scholarship or specialized program may close sooner.

Bright Futures changes tuition—not the whole college bill

For 2027 high-school graduates, the SAT targets are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS. For 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. A 1300 clears the FMS SAT target in both years; a 1350 or 1400 clears the FAS SAT target. GPA, approved hours and all other requirements still apply.

At an eligible public university, FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees. Housing, food, transport and personal expenses remain. The budgets below are the universities’ published 2026–27 Florida-resident on-campus estimates before aid. Their credit loads differ, so these totals are not a normalized price ranking.

SchoolBefore-aid budgetPublished basisSource
USF$27,24828 creditsOfficial budget
FIU$29,804Published full-time budget; credit basis not specified hereOfficial budget

Illustrative annual budget remaining after Bright Futures

Where the budget gives a credit load, the calculations below subtract a matching fall/spring award from the published on-campus budget. These are planning estimates, not bills or financial-aid offers. They include living expenses and exclude other aid; rounded budget figures can leave small tuition differences.

School / annual loadWith FASWith FMSSource
USF (28 credits)$21,371$22,840Award rules
FIUUse the award notice for the actual credit load; the published budget does not specify a matching credit basis here.Award rules

FIU award example: At 15 eligible credits in each of two terms, the published 2026–27 rates produce about $6,561 in FAS or $4,921 in FMS funding annually, including the stated per-term components. This is an award estimate, not the remaining cost of attendance.

Build your cost after Bright Futures

Use the university’s award notice for your actual credit load: subtract that Bright Futures amount and other confirmed grants from your own tuition, housing and living budget. Do not subtract a 30-credit scholarship from a 26- or 28-credit budget. Loans are financing, not discounts.

Use our Bright Futures scholarship calculator to explore the scholarship side, then compare the living arrangements the family would actually choose.

Before estimating scholarship coverage, review the Bright Futures requirements by graduation year and Bright Futures GPA calculator. Then use the eligibility calculator to check the relevant inputs.

Look beyond the university name

For a nursing goal, evaluate USF’s freshman progression rules directly. For FIU hospitality or business, verify the campus and curriculum. Ask what academic conditions must be met after arrival before assuming the university offer settles the major.

USF: program questions

The nursing Freshman Nursing Pathway has progression conditions before upper-division study. Ask what must be maintained after first-year admission and what happens if a student changes direction. A university offer and unrestricted admission to a clinical program are different decisions.

Read the program’s own requirements

Campus and location

Check the specific campus and entry term in a USF offer. Compare the actual housing and class location rather than treating Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota–Manatee as interchangeable.

FIU: program questions

Hospitality families should examine the hospitality and tourism management bachelor’s curriculum. Business and hospitality can put students at different locations: FIU lists business at Modesto Maidique Campus and hospitality at Biscayne Bay Campus. Verify where the required courses actually meet.

Read the program’s own requirements

Campus and location

The choice between Modesto Maidique Campus and Biscayne Bay Campus can materially change a South Florida commute. Map home-to-campus travel at class times before deciding that living at home makes the plan workable.

How large will the classes feel?

Ask both departments for typical enrollment in the first-year courses your student would take, plus lab, discussion and upper-division sections. A university-wide student–faculty ratio is not average class size. Ask to see a normal first-year course schedule as well as any honors options.

Use a visit to test the weekly routine

Walk from likely housing to a required class, find tutoring and advising, and ask how students access projects or placements. For a commuter, add travel time and parking to the schedule. Internship access is useful only if the student can meet the requirements and make the journey.

Turn USF vs FIU into a plan for your teen

Is a Tampa-area move better than a South Florida pathway? Bring your student’s current score report, grades, intended major, graduation year and realistic housing budget. We can help separate the next useful testing milestone from decisions that depend on program fit or admissions review.

Get a clear next step

Book a free 45-minute Zoom strategy session to discuss your student’s SAT goals and a practical prep plan. You do not need a perfect college list to start.

Book your free strategy session

USF college profile · FIU college profile

Sources, dates and how to use this comparison

Reviewed September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep. University and state sources govern admission and scholarship decisions. Planning advice on this page is our interpretation. Profile years are labeled rather than silently mixing admitted and enrolled statistics.

  1. USF admissions profile
  2. USF application deadlines
  3. USF 2026–27 cost of attendance
  4. USF program requirements
  5. FIU admissions profile
  6. FIU application deadlines
  7. FIU 2026–27 cost of attendance
  8. FIU program requirements
  9. Florida Bright Futures initial eligibility handbook

Explore related comparisons

See all Florida college comparisons

Florida Test Prep · Home