← All Florida colleges

Florida State University

Middle 50% SAT
1380
to
1480
Acceptance
Not reported in the cited admissions profile
Typical GPA
4.3 to 4.6 core

Admissions and scholarship information checked September 11, 2026 by Florida Test Prep.

FSU’s Fall 2026 admitted middle 50% is 1380 to 1480 SAT. We recommend 1400 as an initial planning target, adjusted for your teen’s starting score and timeline. That is our recommendation, not an FSU admission requirement or guarantee.

The numbers

Middle 50% SAT1380 to 1480 (Fall 2026 admitted students)
Middle 50% ACT31 to 34
Core GPA4.3 to 4.6
Acceptance rateNot reported in the cited Fall 2026 admissions profile.
Profile cohortAll admitted students for Fall 2026; not an enrolled-student profile.
Test requiredSAT, ACT or CLT on the standard first-year route; see alternative pathway requirements.

Sources checked September 11, 2026: FSU official admitted-student profile and the August 2026 Bright Futures Student Handbook, Chapter 1: eligibility and Chapter 2: funding. These are admitted-student profiles, not enrolled-class statistics or admission cutoffs.

FSU’s core GPA range is part of the admissions picture

FSU reports a 4.3 to 4.6 core GPA middle 50% for Fall 2026 admits. The university describes a holistic review that considers academic preparation, activities and character. A test score is one part of that review.

How the scholarship and admissions targets compare

A 1330 SAT is 50 points below the lower end of FSU’s Fall 2026 admitted middle 50%; a 1350 is 30 points below. Those are score gaps, not predicted prep gains or admission cutoffs. For 2027 graduates, the standard SAT thresholds are 1330 for FAS and 1190 for FMS; for 2028 graduates, they are 1350 and 1200. FAS covers 100% and FMS 75% of eligible tuition and applicable fees at FSU. GPA, coursework, approved hours, the FFAA and other eligibility conditions also apply. Housing, meals and other costs are separate. Check the requirements for your graduation year and our handbook walkthrough.

The misconception: FSU is the backup school

Treat FSU as a selective option rather than assuming it is a backup. Its Fall 2026 profile describes admitted students, and FSU explicitly says no single criterion guarantees admission. Build a balanced college list around the full academic record, program interests and costs.

Quick answers

Is FSU test-optional?

The standard first-year route requires an SAT, ACT or CLT score. Review FSU’s official requirements for score submission and any alternative pathway that applies to your situation. Eligible students earning a Florida high-school diploma and an A.A. through dual enrollment should check the university’s separate pathway instructions.

What SAT score do admitted FSU students have?

FSU reports 1380 to 1480 SAT for the middle 50% of all Fall 2026 admits. Roughly a quarter scored below the lower end and a quarter above the upper end. Our 1400 planning target is a starting recommendation, not an admissions cutoff.

What GPA do FSU admits carry?

FSU reports a GPA range of 4.3 to 4.6 for the cited admitted cohort. This describes the middle of that group, not a minimum for every applicant. Course rigor and grades remain part of admission review. The university’s GPA calculation can differ from a report-card GPA or the Bright Futures GPA.

Does meeting the Bright Futures score requirement guarantee FSU admission?

No. A scholarship test threshold does not secure an FSU offer. Compare the student’s score with the Fall 2026 admitted middle 50% of 1380 to 1480, then assess course rigor, GPA and the rest of the application. Check the separate Bright Futures requirements for the student’s graduation year.

What does the FSU profile tell us about admission chances?

The cited admissions profile reports score and GPA ranges, not a Fall 2026 acceptance rate. Applicants, admitted students and enrolled students are different groups. Do not divide available seats by applications to estimate an acceptance rate; use admitted applicants divided by total applicants for the same cohort.

Compare FSU with your other options

Compare admissions profiles, programs, campus differences and Bright Futures costs before building your college list.

See all Florida college comparisons.

Planning for scholarship eligibility? Start with the Bright Futures requirements for your graduation year, estimate your Bright Futures GPA, then check the score, GPA and approved hours together.

Go deeper

Read What SAT Score Do You Need for FSU?, compare every school at SAT Scores for Florida Colleges, run the Bright Futures Calculator, or book a free Strategy Session and leave with your teen's exact plan.

Weighing other options? Check the admitted ranges at UF, UCF, and USF, plus FAMU right across the tracks in Tallahassee.

Real example: Kira went from 1270 to 1400 in ten weeks, a score inside FSU's admitted range. Watch her family tell it.

What Bright Futures is worth here

At Florida public universities, a 1330 SAT (Florida Academic Scholars) pays 100% of tuition and applicable fees, about $6,381 per year. A 1190 (Medallion) pays 75%. Check your teen's eligibility with the free calculator.

Want the exact score plan for this school?

Book the free Strategy Session. You leave with your teen's target score, their gap, and a 6 to 12 week plan. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session