SAT Scores for Utah Colleges, School by School (2026-27)

None of Utah's major four-year universities, public or private, requires the SAT or ACT for Fall 2027 applicants. BYU is the closest to requiring a score (required for some programs, considered if submitted for the rest); the University of Utah, Utah State, and the state's other public universities are fully test-optional. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.

The table covers 8 colleges Utah families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Utah families can earn: Utah Opportunity Scholarship (state) and University of Utah President's Scholarship.

Utah college score profiles and cohort notes

SchoolSAT profile / cohortACTAcceptance rateTesting, fall 2027
Brigham Young University1290-1430 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)28-3268.8% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 8, 167 admitted of 11, 874 applicants)Not required for admission, but considered if submitted; required for some programs
University of Utah1120-1320 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)22-2990.1% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 27, 076 admitted of 30, 036 applicants)Test-optional
Utah State University1090-1310 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)20-2793.7% · fall 2022 (CDS 2022-23: 15, 061 admitted of 16, 069 applicants)Test-optional (submission of SAT/ACT not required)
Utah Valley UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Weber State UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Southern Utah UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Utah Tech UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Westminster UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Utah Opportunity Scholarship (state)not usedSee program rules~$3,200 (class of 2026 and later; 4 semesters) over 4 yearsUp to $800 per semester for up to 4 semesters, applied to tuition and fees after other state aid; requires a 3.3 cumulative high school GPA plus one AP, IB, or concurrent-enrollment course each in math, science, and language arts, completed before graduation, plus a filed FAFSA
University of Utah President's Scholarshipnot requiredSee program rules~$40,000 over 4 years$10,000 per year, renewable up to 4 years; requires a 4.00 unweighted high school GPA (lower GPA tiers at the same university pay $3,000 to $8,000 a year); homeschooled applicants without a transcript must submit an SAT or ACT score instead

Cohort notes: BYU: Only 11% of BYU's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; 43% submitted ACT, reflecting Utah's ACT-leaning culture even at its most selective private school. Utah: Only 14% of enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score versus 36% ACT; average reported high school GPA was 3.64 unweighted. Utah Tech: Formerly Dixie State University, renamed Utah Tech in 2022. These are not interchangeable measures.

Free tool

Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Utah colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.

Find my teen's target score

School by school

Brigham Young University: 1290 to 1430

BYU reports a 1290 to 1430 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). It admitted 68.8% of 11,874 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 8, 167 admitted of 11, 874 applicants)). The matching ACT range is 28-32. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for admission, but considered if submitted; required for some programs. Only 11% of BYU's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; 43% submitted ACT, reflecting Utah's ACT-leaning culture even at its most selective private school.

University of Utah: 1120 to 1320

Utah reports a 1120 to 1320 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). It admitted 90.1% of 30,036 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 27, 076 admitted of 30, 036 applicants)). The matching ACT range is 22-29. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 14% of enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score versus 36% ACT; average reported high school GPA was 3.64 unweighted.

Utah State University: 1090 to 1310

Utah State reports a 1090 to 1310 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). It admitted 93.7% of 16,069 applicants (fall 2022 (CDS 2022-23: 15, 061 admitted of 16, 069 applicants)). The matching ACT range is 20-27. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional (submission of SAT/ACT not required).

Utah Valley University: Not published

UVU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class.

Weber State University: Not published

Weber State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class.

Southern Utah University: Not published

Southern Utah does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class.

Utah Tech University: Not published

Utah Tech does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Formerly Dixie State University, renamed Utah Tech in 2022.

Westminster University: Not published

Westminster does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class.

What the SAT is worth in Utah

Utah has no SAT-cutoff state scholarship: its statewide Opportunity Scholarship (which replaced the old test-tied Regents' Scholarship for the class of 2022 and later) runs on GPA and AP/IB/concurrent-enrollment coursework, and the University of Utah's own top merit award is GPA-only with no SAT or ACT component.

Utah Opportunity Scholarship (state): Not used. Up to $800 per semester for up to 4 semesters, applied to tuition and fees after other state aid; requires a 3.3 cumulative high school GPA plus one AP, IB, or concurrent-enrollment course each in math, science, and language arts, completed before graduation, plus a filed FAFSA.

University of Utah President's Scholarship: Not required. $10,000 per year, renewable up to 4 years; requires a 4.00 unweighted high school GPA (lower GPA tiers at the same university pay $3,000 to $8,000 a year); homeschooled applicants without a transcript must submit an SAT or ACT score instead.

Utah's older Regents' Scholarship, which did tie its top tier to a 26 ACT score, was replaced by the Opportunity Scholarship for the high school class of 2022 forward, so no current Utah state program uses a test score for eligibility. University of Utah merit scholarships apply a December 1 priority deadline and are renewable only if the recipient keeps the qualifying GPA.

The misconception: test optional means the SAT does not matter in Utah

Utah and Utah State are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.

Quick answers

What SAT score do you need for a scholarship in Utah?

None. Utah's statewide Opportunity Scholarship, which replaced the older test-tied Regents' Scholarship starting with the class of 2022, is based purely on a 3.3 GPA and AP, IB, or concurrent-enrollment coursework. No SAT or ACT score is part of the eligibility rules.

Does BYU require the SAT?

Not for most applicants. BYU's official policy is that SAT or ACT scores are not required for admission but are considered if submitted, and only required for some programs. Still, BYU's enrolled Fall 2025 class that did submit an SAT scored 1290 to 1430 in the middle 50%, among the highest ranges of any Utah school.

What SAT score did it take to get into the University of Utah?

Among the University of Utah's enrolled Fall 2025 first-year class, the middle 50% who submitted an SAT scored 1120 to 1320, with a median of 1230. Only 14% of enrolled students submitted an SAT score at all; more than twice as many submitted an ACT score instead.

Why does the ACT matter more than the SAT in Utah?

Utah's own state testing system centers on the ACT, so most Utah students already have an ACT score before they start thinking about college applications. That shows up directly in the data: at Utah State, 80% of enrolled first-years submitted an ACT score versus just 13.6% who submitted an SAT score.

Are these ranges cutoffs?

No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.

More for Utah families

Sources

University and state sources: BYU, Utah, Utah State, UVU, Weber State, Southern Utah, Utah Tech, Westminster, Utah Opportunity Scholarship (state), University of Utah President's Scholarship. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.

Want the plan for Utah specifically? See SAT prep in Utah, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.

Which range is your teen actually in?

Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Utah schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session