Every major Virginia public university (UVA, William & Mary, Virginia Tech, James Madison, George Mason, VCU, Old Dominion, Christopher Newport) and Washington and Lee are test-optional for the 2026-27 cycle; Hampton University is test-optional only for applicants with a 3.3+ unweighted GPA or top-10% class rank, and requires scores from homeschooled applicants, international-school applicants, and anyone seeking a merit scholarship. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 10 colleges Virginia families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Virginia families can earn: Jefferson Scholarship (University of Virginia) and Stamps Scholarship (Virginia Tech).
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Virginia | 1410-1520 · enrolled, fall 2024, CDS 2024-25 | 32-35 | 16.8% · fall 2024, CDS 2024-25 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| Washington and Lee University | 1430-1520 · enrolled, Class of 2030 | 33-35 | 13.7% · fall 2026 (Class of 2030) | Test-optional |
| College of William & Mary | 1390-1520 · enrolled, Class of 2029 | 32-34 | 37% · fall 2025 (Class of 2029) | Test-optional |
| Virginia Tech | Not published | 28-32 | 55% · BigFuture profile, year not stated | Test-optional through fall 2028 |
| George Mason University | 1180-1360 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 25-31 | 86.5% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| James Madison University | 1180-1330 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | 25-29 | 68.8% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | Test-optional |
| Christopher Newport University | Not published | Not published | 86.0% · fall 2024 (CDS 2024-2025) | Test-optional |
| Old Dominion University | 1120-1270 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 22-27 | 91.4% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | 1010-1260 · enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25, C9) | 22-30 | 92.3% · fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25) | Test-optional |
| Hampton University | Not published | 15-22 | 62.2% · BigFuture profile, year not stated | Conditionally test-optional |
| Jefferson Scholarship (University of Virginia) | Not considered (nomination-based, holistic) | See program rules | ~$230,000 in-state / ~$405,000 out-of-state over 4 years | Full cost of attendance for 4 years plus an enrichment fund; by school nomination only, under 3% of nominees selected |
| Stamps Scholarship (Virginia Tech) | Not a stated factor (leadership, merit, character) | See program rules | Four-year awards average $21,600 to $300,000 nationally over 4 years | Full cost of undergraduate study plus an enrichment fund; about 8-9 scholars selected per class |
Cohort notes: UVA: UVA admitted about 10,086 of 64,457 fall 2025 applicants and does not require SAT/ACT scores for the 2026-27 cycle. Washington and Lee: Only about 55% of the enrolling Class of 2030 submitted SAT or ACT scores under the school's test-optional policy. William & Mary: 40% of the Class of 2029 applied test-optional; the enrolled middle 50% weighted GPA was 4.16-4.51. Virginia Tech: Virginia Tech is test-optional through the Fall 2028 entering class; engineering and computer science admit at materially lower rates than the all-university figure. George Mason: George Mason admitted 22,495 of 26,014 fall 2025 applicants; only 18% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score. James Madison: JMU does not require SAT/ACT scores for first-year admission; submitted scores are considered when provided. Christopher Newport: CNU's own 2024-2025 Common Data Set omits the first-year SAT/ACT percentile table entirely, consistent with its test-optional policy for applicants with a rigorous curriculum. Old Dominion: Only 7% of ODU's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score and 1% submitted an ACT score. VCU: Only about 34% of VCU's enrolled fall-2024 first-years submitted an SAT score and 3% submitted an ACT score. Hampton: Hampton waives the test requirement only for applicants with a 3.3+ unweighted GPA or top-10% class rank; everyone else, plus merit-scholarship applicants, must submit scores. the low end of the published SAT range. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Virginia colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreUVA reports a 1410 to 1520 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024, CDS 2024-25). It admitted 16.8% of 58,951 applicants (fall 2024, CDS 2024-25). The matching ACT range is 32-35. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. UVA admitted about 10,086 of 64,457 fall 2025 applicants and does not require SAT/ACT scores for the 2026-27 cycle.
Washington and Lee reports a 1430 to 1520 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, Class of 2030). It admitted 13.7% of 8,904 applicants (fall 2026 (Class of 2030)). The matching ACT range is 33-35. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only about 55% of the enrolling Class of 2030 submitted SAT or ACT scores under the school's test-optional policy.
William & Mary reports a 1390 to 1520 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, Class of 2029). It admitted 37% of 16,897 applicants (fall 2025 (Class of 2029)). The matching ACT range is 32-34. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. 40% of the Class of 2029 applied test-optional; the enrolled middle 50% weighted GPA was 4.16-4.51.
Virginia Tech does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 55% of Not published applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated). The matching ACT range is 28-32. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional through fall 2028. Virginia Tech is test-optional through the Fall 2028 entering class; engineering and computer science admit at materially lower rates than the all-university figure.
George Mason reports a 1180 to 1360 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 86.5% of 26,014 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 25-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. George Mason admitted 22,495 of 26,014 fall 2025 applicants; only 18% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score.
James Madison reports a 1180 to 1330 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 68.8% of 42,595 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 25-29. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. JMU does not require SAT/ACT scores for first-year admission; submitted scores are considered when provided.
Christopher Newport does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 86.0% of 7,341 applicants (fall 2024 (CDS 2024-2025)). Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. CNU's own 2024-2025 Common Data Set omits the first-year SAT/ACT percentile table entirely, consistent with its test-optional policy for applicants with a rigorous curriculum.
Old Dominion reports a 1120 to 1270 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 91.4% of 15,024 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 22-27. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 7% of ODU's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score and 1% submitted an ACT score.
VCU reports a 1010 to 1260 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25, C9)). It admitted 92.3% of 21,201 applicants (fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25)). The matching ACT range is 22-30. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only about 34% of VCU's enrolled fall-2024 first-years submitted an SAT score and 3% submitted an ACT score.
Hampton does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 62.2% of Not published applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated). The matching ACT range is 15-22. Testing for fall 2027: Conditionally test-optional. Hampton waives the test requirement only for applicants with a 3.3+ unweighted GPA or top-10% class rank; everyone else, plus merit-scholarship applicants, must submit scores. the low end of the published SAT range.
Virginia has no statewide SAT-cutoff merit scholarship like Florida's Bright Futures; the state's need-based Virginia Commonwealth Award only sets a test-score floor (980 SAT combined or 19 ACT) for home-school completers, so the state's best-known score-tied money is university-level full-ride competitions.
Jefferson Scholarship (University of Virginia): Not considered (nomination-based, holistic). Full cost of attendance for 4 years plus an enrichment fund; by school nomination only, under 3% of nominees selected.
Stamps Scholarship (Virginia Tech): Not a stated factor (leadership, merit, character). Full cost of undergraduate study plus an enrichment fund; about 8-9 scholars selected per class.
Both awards are extremely low-odds, invitation-driven competitions rather than a published SAT-tier grid; neither publishes a minimum SAT/ACT score as a qualifying threshold.
UVA, Washington and Lee, William & Mary and Virginia Tech are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.
There is no SAT score requirement. The Jefferson Scholars Foundation does not consider SAT, ACT, AP, or IB scores for the 2026-27 cycle; students only enter through a school nomination and holistic review.
No. UVA is test-optional for the 2026-27 admissions cycle, and applicants choose on the Common Application whether to share SAT or ACT scores with no stated disadvantage either way.
Yes, starting in the 2026-27 school year. Virginia HB 410 requires every public high school to offer juniors a voluntary, in-school SAT sitting in the fall or spring window the district selects.
The enrolled middle 50% SAT range was 1390-1520, with a 32-34 ACT range; about 40% of the class applied test-optional and the weighted GPA middle 50% was 4.16-4.51.
No. Virginia Tech is test-optional through the Fall 2028 entering class, and its reported SAT middle 50% (1280-1450) reflects only the roughly half of recent admits who submitted a score.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: UVA, Washington and Lee, William & Mary, Virginia Tech, George Mason, James Madison, Christopher Newport, Old Dominion, VCU, Hampton, Jefferson Scholarship (University of Virginia), Stamps Scholarship (Virginia Tech). Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Virginia specifically? See SAT prep in Virginia, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Virginia schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session