No four-year college in Vermont requires the SAT or ACT for 2026-27. Middlebury, Bennington, UVM, Saint Michael's, Champlain, Norwich, Landmark, and Vermont State are all test-optional, and at several of them fewer than 15% of enrolled students submitted a score at all. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 8 colleges Vermont families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Vermont families can earn: UVM Green and Gold Scholars Award and UVM Vermont Scholars Award.
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Middlebury College | 1450-1530 · enrolled, fall 2024 | 33-35 | 10.75% · fall 2024 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| Bennington College | 1308-1375 · enrolled, fall 2024 (only 10.4% of the class submitted a score) | 30-32 | 44.5% · fall 2024 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| University of Vermont | 1300-1430 · enrolled, fall 2025 (32% of the class submitted a score) | 29-33 | 73.0% · fall 2025 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| Saint Michael's College | Not published (section scores only: EBRW 570-660, Math 550-620) · enrolled, fall 2024 (9% of the class submitted a score) | 26-31 | 85.1% · fall 2024 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| Champlain College | Not published (section scores only: EBRW 620-700, Math 600-680) · enrolled, fall 2024 (13% of the class submitted a score) | 26-29 | 83% · fall 2024 | Test-optional for 2026-27 |
| Norwich University | Not published | 21-25 | 88.95% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (13, 586 applicants, 12, 085 admitted) | Test-optional (scores considered if submitted) |
| Landmark College | Not published | Not published | 49.4% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (447 applicants, 221 admitted) | SAT/ACT optional |
| Vermont State University | Not published (test-optional; GPA-based review) | Not published | 85% · most recent published figure | Test-optional (required only for specific health-science programs) |
| UVM Green and Gold Scholars Award | No SAT cutoff, not required or considered; selected by the student's own high school | See program rules | ~$67,000 (full in-state tuition for 4 years) over 4 years | Full in-state tuition for the single most academically talented Vermont senior nominated by each eligible Vermont high school (based on 9th-11th grade record), plus an invitation to UVM's Honors College; renewable with a 3.0 college GPA; cannot be combined with other UVM merit scholarships |
| UVM Vermont Scholars Award | No SAT cutoff, not required or considered; based on the application for admission | See program rules | ~$32,000-$40,000 ($8,000-$10,000/year) over 4 years | $8,000 to $10,000 per year for 4 years for admitted Vermont first-year students who demonstrate the highest academic performance; no separate application; renewable with a 3.0 college GPA |
Cohort notes: Middlebury: Vermont's most selective college, in a small-town setting in Addison County; 94.44% of enrolled ACT submitters scored 30 or above. Bennington: A small liberal-arts college known for self-designed, interdisciplinary study plans; the overwhelming majority of its enrolled class applied without a test score. UVM: Vermont's public land-grant flagship in Burlington; its Green and Gold Scholars award gives the top student at every eligible Vermont high school full in-state tuition, chosen by the high school, not by SAT score. Saint Michael's: A Catholic liberal-arts college in Colchester, just outside Burlington; fewer than 15% of its fall 2024 enrolled class submitted any test score. Champlain: A career-focused private college on the Burlington waterfront known for its game design, cybersecurity, and business programs. Norwich: The nation's oldest private senior military college, in Northfield; offers a Corps of Cadets track alongside a traditional civilian student body. Landmark: A small college in Putney built specifically to teach students with dyslexia, ADHD, and other learning differences; it does not publish SAT/ACT score ranges. Vermont State: Vermont's public regional university system, formed in 2023 from the merger of Castleton University, Northern Vermont University, and Vermont Technical College; it targets a 'B average' (3.0 unweighted) applicant and considers test scores only if submitted. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Vermont colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreMiddlebury reports a 1450 to 1530 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024). It admitted 10.75% of 12,540 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 33-35. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. Vermont's most selective college, in a small-town setting in Addison County; 94.44% of enrolled ACT submitters scored 30 or above.
Bennington reports a 1308 to 1375 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024 (only 10.4% of the class submitted a score)). It admitted 44.5% of 2,996 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 30-32. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. A small liberal-arts college known for self-designed, interdisciplinary study plans; the overwhelming majority of its enrolled class applied without a test score.
UVM reports a 1300 to 1430 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (32% of the class submitted a score)). It admitted 73.0% of 25,434 applicants (fall 2025). The matching ACT range is 29-33. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. Vermont's public land-grant flagship in Burlington; its Green and Gold Scholars award gives the top student at every eligible Vermont high school full in-state tuition, chosen by the high school, not by SAT score.
Saint Michael's does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 85.1% of 2,788 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 26-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. A Catholic liberal-arts college in Colchester, just outside Burlington; fewer than 15% of its fall 2024 enrolled class submitted any test score.
Champlain does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 83% of 3,835 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 26-29. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2026-27. A career-focused private college on the Burlington waterfront known for its game design, cybersecurity, and business programs.
Norwich does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 88.95% of 13,586 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (13, 586 applicants, 12, 085 admitted)). The matching ACT range is 21-25. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional (scores considered if submitted). The nation's oldest private senior military college, in Northfield; offers a Corps of Cadets track alongside a traditional civilian student body.
Landmark does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 49.4% of 447 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (447 applicants, 221 admitted)). Testing for fall 2027: SAT/ACT optional. A small college in Putney built specifically to teach students with dyslexia, ADHD, and other learning differences; it does not publish SAT/ACT score ranges.
Vermont State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 85% (most recent published figure). Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional (required only for specific health-science programs). Vermont's public regional university system, formed in 2023 from the merger of Castleton University, Northern Vermont University, and Vermont Technical College; it targets a 'B average' (3.0 unweighted) applicant and considers test scores only if submitted.
Vermont has no state-level scholarship with an SAT cutoff; the clearest score-tied money in the state is the University of Vermont's merit-scholarship lineup, and even that is awarded on a holistic academic record rather than a specific SAT number, including a full-tuition award chosen by each Vermont high school rather than by test score.
UVM Green and Gold Scholars Award: No SAT cutoff, not required or considered; selected by the student's own high school. Full in-state tuition for the single most academically talented Vermont senior nominated by each eligible Vermont high school (based on 9th-11th grade record), plus an invitation to UVM's Honors College; renewable with a 3.0 college GPA; cannot be combined with other UVM merit scholarships.
UVM Vermont Scholars Award: No SAT cutoff, not required or considered; based on the application for admission. $8,000 to $10,000 per year for 4 years for admitted Vermont first-year students who demonstrate the highest academic performance; no separate application; renewable with a 3.0 college GPA.
Both UVM awards are automatic consideration through the admission application; no SAT or ACT score is required or weighed. Out-of-state students have a separate, larger set of UVM merit tiers (Presidential, $20,000-$25,000/year; Trustees, $10,000-$14,000/year) under the same GPA-based, no-test-score review. The Vermont Student Assistance Corporation (VSAC) administers additional Vermont scholarships, but these are primarily need-based rather than SAT-tied.
Middlebury, Bennington, UVM and Saint Michael's are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. Vermont State still require a score. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.
Vermont has no statewide scholarship with an SAT cutoff. The best-known score-tied money in the state is UVM's merit-scholarship lineup, and it does not weigh a test score at all: the Green and Gold Scholars Award (full in-state tuition, about $67,000 over 4 years) goes to the single most academically talented senior nominated by each eligible Vermont high school, and the Vermont Scholars Award ($8,000 to $10,000 a year) goes to other admitted Vermont students with the strongest academic record.
No, UVM is test-optional for 2026-27. Among the roughly 32% of UVM's fall 2025 enrolled class who chose to submit a score, the middle-50% SAT Composite range was 1300 to 1430, with a median of 1360.
Yes. Vermont gives the SAT free to nearly all 11th graders statewide during the school day as the state's official accountability assessment, run through the Vermont Agency of Education with the College Board.
Middlebury is Vermont's most selective college and is test-optional for 2026-27. Students who enrolled in fall 2024 and submitted a score had a middle-50% SAT Composite of 1450 to 1530 and ACT Composite of 33 to 35, and Middlebury admitted 10.75% of its 12,540 applicants.
Because Vermont already requires the SAT as its 11th-grade state assessment, most students have taken it, but choose not to send that score to test-optional colleges unless it would strengthen their application.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: Middlebury, Bennington, UVM, Saint Michael's, Champlain, Norwich, Landmark, Vermont State, UVM Green and Gold Scholars Award. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Vermont specifically? See SAT prep in Vermont, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Vermont schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session