Every public university in New Mexico is test-optional for Fall 2027 applicants. UNM does not require a score; NMSU and most other NM publics admit on GPA, class rank, or a modest test-score threshold, any one of the three. NM Tech is the exception worth flagging: it is test-optional but went back to recommending scores for Fall 2026 because it ties them to scholarship and math-placement decisions. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 6 colleges New Mexico families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money New Mexico families can earn: UNM Amigo Scholarship (non-resident tuition to resident rate) and NMSU Out-of-State Competitive Tuition Discount.
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology | 1100-1356 (test-optional submitters only) · admitted, submitted scores, most recent published profile | 22-30 | 53.95% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (600 admitted / 1, 112 applied / 222 enrolled) | Test-optional, but NMT is again requesting ACT/SAT for Fall 2026 applicants (recommended for admission, math placement, and scholarships) |
| University of New Mexico | 920-1170 · enrolled first-years, 25th-75th percentile, Fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 (only 54% submitted an SAT score; 8% submitted ACT) | 20-26 | 79.9% · 10, 866 admitted / 13, 589 applied, Fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | Test-optional for Fall 2027 applicants; ACT/SAT not required but considered if submitted |
| New Mexico State University | 870-1110 (submitters) · BigFuture profile, year not stated | 17-24 | 88.96% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (11, 650 admitted / 13, 095 applied / 2, 404 enrolled) | Holistic admission: a 2.75 GPA, OR a 21 ACT / 1060 SAT, OR top-20% class rank qualifies a freshman (any one path) |
| Western New Mexico University | Not published (BigFuture: 'SAT score range not available' for this school) | Not published | Not reported | ACT/SAT scores are not required for admission to WNMU; scores less than 5 years old may be used for scholarship qualification and Accuplacer placement if submitted |
| Eastern New Mexico University | 860-1050 · enrolled, fall 2024, submitted scores (51% of class), CDS 2024-2025 C9 | 17-23 | 91.7% · Fall 2024 (1, 583 admitted / 1, 727 applied / 585 enrolled), CDS 2024-2025 | Open admission path: ACT 17 / SAT 900 (post-March 2016 scale) alongside home-school/GED alternatives |
| New Mexico Highlands University | Not published | Not published | Open admission (no competitive rate published; NMHU describes itself as an open-enrollment institution) | ACT/SAT recommended but not required; used for course placement and scholarship consideration. Students who do not submit a score take the Accuplacer placement exam instead |
| UNM Amigo Scholarship (non-resident tuition to resident rate) | 1130 (with 3.5 GPA) or 1240 (with 3.0 GPA) | See program rules | ~$92,596 (approx. $23,149/yr for 4 years) over 4 years | Reduces non-resident tuition to the New Mexico resident rate, renewable 4 years; requires 15 new credit hours and a 2.5 semester GPA to keep it |
| NMSU Out-of-State Competitive Tuition Discount | 26 ACT equivalent with 3.0 GPA, or 23 ACT equivalent with 3.5 GPA | See program rules | ~$73,304 (approx. $18,326/yr for 4 years) over 4 years | $18,326 per year off non-resident tuition; limited awards, renewal needs a 3.5 cumulative GPA and 30 new credits a year |
Cohort notes: NM Tech: NM's STEM-focused public institute; scores are recommended, not required, but tied to scholarship consideration. UNM: UNM is the state flagship; a majority of its enrolled first-years did not submit any test score. NMSU: NMSU admits on GPA, test score, or class rank, any one of the three; a test score is only one of three ways in. WNMU: WNMU's own admissions checklist confirms ACT/SAT are not required; no official CDS or acceptance-rate page was located, and BigFuture's own profile for this school reports no SAT data at all. ENMU: ENMU's published minimum is a low bar (ACT 17 / SAT 900); its own Common Data Set (now confirmed readable) shows 91.7% of fall 2024 applicants were admitted and a 25th-75th SAT composite of 860-1050 among the 51% who submitted a score. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the New Mexico colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreNM Tech reports a 1100 to 1356 middle 50% SAT (admitted, submitted scores, most recent published profile). It admitted 53.95% of 1,112 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (600 admitted / 1, 112 applied / 222 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 22-30. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional, but NMT is again requesting ACT/SAT for Fall 2026 applicants (recommended for admission, math placement, and scholarships). NM's STEM-focused public institute; scores are recommended, not required, but tied to scholarship consideration.
UNM reports a 920 to 1170 middle 50% SAT (enrolled first-years, 25th-75th percentile, Fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 (only 54% submitted an SAT score; 8% submitted ACT)). It admitted 79.9% of 13,589 applicants (10, 866 admitted / 13, 589 applied, Fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 20-26. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for Fall 2027 applicants; ACT/SAT not required but considered if submitted. UNM is the state flagship; a majority of its enrolled first-years did not submit any test score.
NMSU reports a 870 to 1110 middle 50% SAT (BigFuture profile, year not stated). It admitted 88.96% of 13,095 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (11, 650 admitted / 13, 095 applied / 2, 404 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 17-24. Testing for fall 2027: Holistic admission: a 2.75 GPA, OR a 21 ACT / 1060 SAT, OR top-20% class rank qualifies a freshman (any one path). NMSU admits on GPA, test score, or class rank, any one of the three; a test score is only one of three ways in.
WNMU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: ACT/SAT scores are not required for admission to WNMU; scores less than 5 years old may be used for scholarship qualification and Accuplacer placement if submitted. WNMU's own admissions checklist confirms ACT/SAT are not required; no official CDS or acceptance-rate page was located, and BigFuture's own profile for this school reports no SAT data at all.
ENMU reports a 860 to 1050 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024, submitted scores (51% of class), CDS 2024-2025 C9). It admitted 91.7% of 1,727 applicants (Fall 2024 (1, 583 admitted / 1, 727 applied / 585 enrolled), CDS 2024-2025). The matching ACT range is 17-23. Testing for fall 2027: Open admission path: ACT 17 / SAT 900 (post-March 2016 scale) alongside home-school/GED alternatives. ENMU's published minimum is a low bar (ACT 17 / SAT 900); its own Common Data Set (now confirmed readable) shows 91.7% of fall 2024 applicants were admitted and a 25th-75th SAT composite of 860-1050 among the 51% who submitted a score.
NMHU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted Open admission (no competitive rate published; NMHU describes itself as an open-enrollment institution) (latest cycle). Testing for fall 2027: ACT/SAT recommended but not required; used for course placement and scholarship consideration. Students who do not submit a score take the Accuplacer placement exam instead.
New Mexico has no statewide SAT-cutoff scholarship; the state's main award, the NM Legislative Lottery Scholarship, runs on first-term college GPA (2.5+) and enrollment, not a test score, so score-tied money in New Mexico comes from university tuition scholarships instead.
UNM Amigo Scholarship (non-resident tuition to resident rate): 1130 (with 3.5 GPA) or 1240 (with 3.0 GPA). Reduces non-resident tuition to the New Mexico resident rate, renewable 4 years; requires 15 new credit hours and a 2.5 semester GPA to keep it.
NMSU Out-of-State Competitive Tuition Discount: 26 ACT equivalent with 3.0 GPA, or 23 ACT equivalent with 3.5 GPA. $18,326 per year off non-resident tuition; limited awards, renewal needs a 3.5 cumulative GPA and 30 new credits a year.
Both grids above are non-resident tuition discounts, not cash scholarships, and both require full-time enrollment (15 credit hours) to keep. Neither school publishes a resident-student SAT-tiered merit grid; UNM's resident Achievers award ($2,000/yr) runs on GPA (3.40-3.84) alone, with no test-score path.
NM Tech and UNM are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.
No. The Lottery Scholarship, which pays 100% of tuition at any New Mexico public or tribal college, is earned by completing 12 credit hours with a 2.5 GPA in the first term of college and enrolling full time within 16 months of high school graduation. It has no SAT or ACT requirement.
No. UNM is test-optional: ACT, SAT, and CLT scores are not required to be considered for admission, though they may help in some cases. Only 54% of UNM's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score at all.
Yes. New Mexico's Public Education Department runs SAT School Day as the state's official high school assessment, so public high school students take the SAT at no cost during the school day, not the ACT.
UNM's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years who submitted an SAT scored between 920 and 1170 (25th to 75th percentile), with a median of 1030. That is only about half the class, since UNM does not require a score.
Yes. NMSU admits freshmen on any one of three paths: a 2.75 high school GPA, a 21 ACT or 1060 SAT, or ranking in the top 20% of your graduating class. A strong GPA or class rank alone is enough.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: NM Tech, UNM, NMSU, WNMU, ENMU, NMHU, UNM Amigo Scholarship (non-resident tuition to resident rate), NMSU Out-of-State Competitive Tuition Discount. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for New Mexico specifically? See SAT prep in New Mexico, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their New Mexico schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session