For 2026-27 applicants, Mississippi's flagships (Ole Miss, Mississippi State) and most regional publics are test-optional or admit off a GPA/ACT sliding scale; Mississippi College (branded Mississippi Christian University) is the only school on this list that still requires an ACT, SAT, or CLT score. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 10 colleges Mississippi families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Mississippi families can earn: MESG (Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant) and MTAG (Mississippi Tuition Assistance Grant).
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Millsaps College | Not published | 21-28 | 43.1% · fall 2024, CDS 2024-25 | Test-optional (no SAT/ACT required) |
| University of Mississippi | 990-1175 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | 21-29 | 97.4% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | ACT or SAT accepted but not required; a minimum reading/English subscore (ACT 17 or SAT 470) triggers a developmental course |
| Mississippi State University | Not published | 21-29 | 77.59% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (18, 146 admitted / 23, 385 applied / 3, 596 enrolled) | Test-optional; ACT/SAT superscored when submitted, encouraged for scholarships |
| Mississippi College (Mississippi Christian University) | 1160-1330 · admitted, 2025 academic year (middle 50%) | 24-26 | Not reported | Required for 2026-27 (ACT, SAT, or CLT accepted; superscored) |
| Belhaven University | Not published (BigFuture: 'SAT Information is not available') | 18-23 | 47.91% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 345 admitted / 2, 807 applied / 241 enrolled) | Test-optional if high school GPA is 2.75 or higher |
| University of Southern Mississippi | Not published (BigFuture: 'SAT Information is not available') | 20-29 | 99.37% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (8, 763 admitted / 8, 818 applied / 1, 731 enrolled) | Sliding scale: GPA 3.2+ needs no test; GPA 2.5+/top-50% class rank needs ACT 16+; GPA 2.0+ needs ACT 18+ (SAT equivalents accepted) |
| Jackson State University | Not published | 15-20 | 93.15% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (14, 446 admitted / 15, 507 applied / 6, 326 enrolled) | Test-optional for 2024-25 and 2025-26; a separate JSU Global page lists a 790 SAT / 16 ACT floor for score-based review |
| Delta State University | Not published | 17-24 | 99.67% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 238 admitted / 1, 242 applied / 218 enrolled) | Conditional: CPC + GPA 2.5/top-50% rank + ACT 16+ (or SAT 880-910), or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 960-980) |
| Mississippi University for Women | Not published | 18-23 | 99.11% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (446 admitted / 450 applied / 125 enrolled) | Conditional: ACT 16+ (or SAT 880-910), or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 860) |
| Alcorn State University | Not published | 15-24 | 24.65% · BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 852 admitted / 7, 511 applied / 505 enrolled) | Conditional: GPA 2.5+/top-50% rank + ACT 16+, or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 960+) |
| MESG (Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant) | 1330 (stated SAT-equivalent for ACT 29) | See program rules | ~$10,000 (up to $2,500/yr x 8 semesters) over 4 years | Up to $2,500/year toward tuition and required fees, up to 8 semesters; requires ACT 29+ (SAT 1330, or National Merit Finalist/Semifinalist) and a 3.5 cumulative GPA |
| MTAG (Mississippi Tuition Assistance Grant) | ACT 15 minimum (no SAT equivalent published by the state) | See program rules | ~$3,000 ($500/yr freshman-sophomore, $1,000/yr junior-senior) over 4 years | $500/year freshman and sophomore year, $1,000/year junior and senior year; requires ACT 15+, a 2.5 GPA, and Pell-grant eligibility (less than the maximum Federal Pell Grant) |
Cohort notes: Millsaps: Millsaps states an average admitted-student ACT of 24 and average GPA of 3.58; as a fully test-optional college it does not publish an SAT range. Ole Miss: Fall 2024's freshman class averaged a 24.3 ACT and 3.52 GPA (source: olemiss.edu newsroom); fall 2025's record 5,464-student freshman class averaged a 3.58 GPA. Mississippi State: Fall 2024's entering class averaged a 25.1 ACT and 3.75 GPA, 4.0 scale (source: msstate.edu newsroom). MSU's Common Data Set is now published only as an .xlsx workbook, not a readable SAT-range document, so the SAT range above comes from the College Board BigFuture profile instead. Belhaven: Belhaven lets applicants skip ACT/SAT/CLT entirely at a 2.75+ GPA; it does not publish a middle-50 test range for admitted students. No official Common Data Set was located on Belhaven's site, and the College Board BigFuture profile states SAT information is not available for this college. Southern Miss: USM admits off a GPA/test sliding scale rather than a single cutoff or a published middle-50 range. Jackson State: JSU does not require ACT/SAT for freshman admission in the current two cycles; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-1080 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores. Delta State: Delta State's own admissions page states the GPA/test tiers but does not publish an enrolled-class SAT or ACT range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports a 940-1190 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores. MUW: MUW's own site gives GPA/test tiers, not a published middle-50 range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-1180 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores. Alcorn State: Alcorn State's own site gives GPA/test tiers, not a published middle-50 SAT/ACT range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-998 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Mississippi colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreMillsaps does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 43.1% of 2,340 applicants (fall 2024, CDS 2024-25). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional (no SAT/ACT required). Millsaps states an average admitted-student ACT of 24 and average GPA of 3.58; as a fully test-optional college it does not publish an SAT range.
Ole Miss reports a 990 to 1175 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 97.4% of 37,621 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 21-29. Testing for fall 2027: ACT or SAT accepted but not required; a minimum reading/English subscore (ACT 17 or SAT 470) triggers a developmental course. Fall 2024's freshman class averaged a 24.3 ACT and 3.52 GPA (source: olemiss.edu newsroom); fall 2025's record 5,464-student freshman class averaged a 3.58 GPA.
Mississippi State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 77.59% of 23,385 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (18, 146 admitted / 23, 385 applied / 3, 596 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 21-29. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; ACT/SAT superscored when submitted, encouraged for scholarships. Fall 2024's entering class averaged a 25.1 ACT and 3.75 GPA, 4.0 scale (source: msstate.edu newsroom). MSU's Common Data Set is now published only as an .xlsx workbook, not a readable SAT-range document, so the SAT range above comes from the College Board BigFuture profile instead.
Mississippi College reports a 1160 to 1330 middle 50% SAT (admitted, 2025 academic year (middle 50%)). The matching ACT range is 24-26. Testing for fall 2027: Required for 2026-27 (ACT, SAT, or CLT accepted; superscored).
Belhaven does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 47.91% of 2,807 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 345 admitted / 2, 807 applied / 241 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 18-23. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional if high school GPA is 2.75 or higher. Belhaven lets applicants skip ACT/SAT/CLT entirely at a 2.75+ GPA; it does not publish a middle-50 test range for admitted students. No official Common Data Set was located on Belhaven's site, and the College Board BigFuture profile states SAT information is not available for this college.
Southern Miss does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 99.37% of 8,818 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (8, 763 admitted / 8, 818 applied / 1, 731 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 20-29. Testing for fall 2027: Sliding scale: GPA 3.2+ needs no test; GPA 2.5+/top-50% class rank needs ACT 16+; GPA 2.0+ needs ACT 18+ (SAT equivalents accepted). USM admits off a GPA/test sliding scale rather than a single cutoff or a published middle-50 range.
Jackson State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 93.15% of 15,507 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (14, 446 admitted / 15, 507 applied / 6, 326 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 15-20. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for 2024-25 and 2025-26; a separate JSU Global page lists a 790 SAT / 16 ACT floor for score-based review. JSU does not require ACT/SAT for freshman admission in the current two cycles; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-1080 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores.
Delta State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 99.67% of 1,242 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 238 admitted / 1, 242 applied / 218 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 17-24. Testing for fall 2027: Conditional: CPC + GPA 2.5/top-50% rank + ACT 16+ (or SAT 880-910), or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 960-980). Delta State's own admissions page states the GPA/test tiers but does not publish an enrolled-class SAT or ACT range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports a 940-1190 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores.
MUW does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 99.11% of 450 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (446 admitted / 450 applied / 125 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 18-23. Testing for fall 2027: Conditional: ACT 16+ (or SAT 880-910), or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 860). MUW's own site gives GPA/test tiers, not a published middle-50 range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-1180 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores.
Alcorn State does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 24.65% of 7,511 applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated (1, 852 admitted / 7, 511 applied / 505 enrolled)). The matching ACT range is 15-24. Testing for fall 2027: Conditional: GPA 2.5+/top-50% rank + ACT 16+, or GPA 2.0+ with ACT 18+ (or SAT 960+). Alcorn State's own site gives GPA/test tiers, not a published middle-50 SAT/ACT range; the College Board BigFuture profile reports an 850-998 SAT range for enrolled students who submitted scores.
Mississippi's two state grant programs gate eligibility on an ACT score plus a GPA tier rather than a university SAT scholarship grid; MESG publishes an explicit SAT-equivalent (1330) for its ACT-29 bar, while MTAG's ACT-15 bar has no published SAT equivalent.
MESG (Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant): 1330 (stated SAT-equivalent for ACT 29). Up to $2,500/year toward tuition and required fees, up to 8 semesters; requires ACT 29+ (SAT 1330, or National Merit Finalist/Semifinalist) and a 3.5 cumulative GPA.
MTAG (Mississippi Tuition Assistance Grant): ACT 15 minimum (no SAT equivalent published by the state). $500/year freshman and sophomore year, $1,000/year junior and senior year; requires ACT 15+, a 2.5 GPA, and Pell-grant eligibility (less than the maximum Federal Pell Grant).
Both programs accept ACT superscores. Students must reapply via MAAPP every academic year; renewal requires the program's minimum cumulative college GPA (3.5 for MESG, 2.5 for MTAG) and continuous full-time enrollment (8 completed semesters max). Neither program pays for summer terms, and no student may draw aid from more than one state grant program in the same term.
Mississippi State, Belhaven and Jackson State are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. Millsaps and Mississippi College still require a score. And MESG (Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant) is awarded on the SAT or ACT whatever the admissions policy.
You need the equivalent of an ACT 29, which the Mississippi Office of Student Financial Aid states can also be met with an SAT score of 1330, plus a 3.5 high school GPA. MESG then pays up to $2,500 per year, for up to 8 semesters, toward tuition and fees at an approved Mississippi college.
No. Mississippi State is test-optional for freshman admission; applicants who submit an ACT or SAT score get it superscored, mainly to help with scholarship review, but a test score is not required to be admitted.
Not the SAT. College Board's own data show just 5% of Mississippi's small pool of SAT test-takers, itself only 1% of the state's class-of-2025 graduates, tested through a School Day administration; the rest tested only on a national weekend date. Mississippi has historically been an ACT-first testing state.
The middle 50% of its 2025 admitted freshman class scored 1160-1330 on the SAT (24-26 ACT), with GPAs of 3.5-3.7. The college, now branded Mississippi Christian University on its own site, requires an official ACT, SAT, or CLT score for the 2026-27 cycle.
Mississippi has historically been an ACT-dominant testing state. College Board counted only 426 SAT test-takers among the state's 33,606 class-of-2025 graduates, a 1% participation rate, far below the ACT's reach through school-based testing in the state.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: Millsaps, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Mississippi College, Belhaven, Southern Miss, Jackson State, Delta State, MUW, Alcorn State, MESG (Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant), MTAG (Mississippi Tuition Assistance Grant). Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Mississippi specifically? See SAT prep in Mississippi, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Mississippi schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session