SAT Scores for Iowa Colleges, School by School (2026-27)

All three of Iowa's public regent universities (University of Iowa, Iowa State, University of Northern Iowa) and every private college checked, including Grinnell, Drake, Coe, and Luther, are test-optional for Fall 2027 applicants. No major Iowa college requires the SAT or ACT. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.

The table covers 7 colleges Iowa families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers.

Iowa college score profiles and cohort notes

SchoolSAT profile / cohortACTAcceptance rateTesting, fall 2027
Grinnell College1430-1520 · enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25)31-34Not reportedSee school
University of Iowa1130-1320 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)21-2879.9% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 25, 131 admitted of 31, 454 applicants)Test-optional
Iowa State University1153-1360 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)21-2887.9% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 21, 652 admitted of 24, 625 applicants)Test-optional
University of Northern IowaNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedTest-optional
Drake UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedTest-optional
Luther CollegeNot publishedNot published62.3%Test-optional
Coe CollegeNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedTest-optional

Cohort notes: Grinnell: Only 29% of Grinnell's enrolled Fall 2024 first-years submitted an SAT score and 21% submitted ACT; Grinnell is Iowa's most selective college by a wide margin. Iowa: Only 22% of the University of Iowa's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score (1,230 students); 60% submitted the ACT. Iowa State: Only 12% of Iowa State's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; 45% submitted ACT. These are not interchangeable measures.

Free tool

Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Iowa colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.

Find my teen's target score

School by school

Grinnell College: 1430 to 1520

Grinnell reports a 1430 to 1520 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25)). The matching ACT range is 31-34. Only 29% of Grinnell's enrolled Fall 2024 first-years submitted an SAT score and 21% submitted ACT; Grinnell is Iowa's most selective college by a wide margin.

University of Iowa: 1130 to 1320

Iowa reports a 1130 to 1320 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). It admitted 79.9% of 31,454 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 25, 131 admitted of 31, 454 applicants)). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 22% of the University of Iowa's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score (1,230 students); 60% submitted the ACT.

Iowa State University: 1153 to 1360

Iowa State reports a 1153 to 1360 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). It admitted 87.9% of 24,625 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26: 21, 652 admitted of 24, 625 applicants)). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 12% of Iowa State's enrolled Fall 2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; 45% submitted ACT.

University of Northern Iowa: Not published

UNI does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.

Drake University: Not published

Drake does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.

Luther College: Not published

Luther does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 62.3% (latest cycle). Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.

Coe College: Not published

Coe does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.

The misconception: test optional means the SAT does not matter in Iowa

Iowa, Iowa State, UNI and Drake are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.

Quick answers

Does the University of Iowa require the SAT?

No. The University of Iowa is test-optional, along with Iowa State and the University of Northern Iowa. A score can be submitted if a student believes it strengthens their application: the University of Iowa's enrolled Fall 2025 middle 50% SAT was 1130 to 1320, but only 22% of enrollees submitted one.

What SAT score did it take to get into Grinnell College?

Only 29% of Grinnell's enrolled students submitted an SAT score at all.

Why is Grinnell so different from Iowa's other colleges on test scores?

Grinnell is a highly selective national liberal arts college that draws applicants from across the country, not primarily from Iowa, which is why its enrolled SAT range sits far above Iowa's public universities and other private colleges. It is still test-optional, so a strong application does not require submitting a score at all.

Are these ranges cutoffs?

No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.

More for Iowa families

Sources

University and state sources: Grinnell, Iowa, Iowa State, UNI, Drake, Luther, Coe. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.

Want the plan for Iowa specifically? See SAT prep in Iowa, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.

Which range is your teen actually in?

Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Iowa schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session