Every school on this list is test-optional for the 2026-27 cycle; Northwestern and UChicago still see roughly half of enrolled first-years submit scores, while the less selective public universities (NIU, Illinois State, UIC) see submission rates under 50%. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 10 colleges Illinois families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Illinois families can earn: Stamps Scholarship (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) and Illinois State Scholar designation.
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Chicago | 1500-1560 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 34-35 | 4.5% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| Northwestern University | 1520-1560 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 34-35 | 7.5% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | 1390-1520 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | 30-34 | 36.6% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | Test-optional |
| Loyola University Chicago | 1220-1390 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 26-31 | 75.1% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| Illinois Institute of Technology | 1190-1400 · enrolled, fall 2023 (CDS 2023-24, C9) | 25-31 | 55.4% · fall 2023 (CDS 2023-24) | Test-optional |
| DePaul University | 1150-1330 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 26-31 | 87.8% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| University of Illinois Chicago | 1030-1300 · enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9) | 24-31 | 75.8% · fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26) | Test-optional |
| Illinois State University | 1010-1210 · enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25, C9) | 21-27 | 88.1% · fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25) | Test-optional |
| Bradley University | 1030-1240 · enrolled, fall 2024, CDS 2024-25 (CDS 2025-26 leaves C9 blank) | 24-30 | 74.6% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | Test-optional |
| Northern Illinois University | Not published | Not published | 71.2% · BigFuture profile, year not stated | Test-optional |
| Stamps Scholarship (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) | Not a published cutoff (holistic: honors, leadership, essays) | See program rules | Full cost of attendance for 8 semesters plus $12,000 enrichment fund over 4 years | Covers tuition, fees, room and board in full, selected during the general admissions review |
| Illinois State Scholar designation | 95th percentile ACT/SAT, or top half of class by 3rd semester senior year | See program rules | $0 over 4 years | Honorary distinction only; no monetary award is attached |
Cohort notes: UChicago: UChicago admitted about 2,039 of 45,533 fall 2025 applicants; only 57% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score. Northwestern: Northwestern offers no academic-merit scholarships at all; all institutional aid is need-based. Loyola Chicago: Only 39% of Loyola's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score, 15% an ACT score. DePaul: Only 30% of DePaul's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; the average high school GPA of those who submitted a GPA was 3.77. UIC: Only 47% of UIC's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score, 4% an ACT score. Illinois State: Only about 44% of Illinois State's enrolled fall-2024 first-years submitted an SAT score. Bradley: Bradley's own Office of Institutional Effectiveness last posted a public Common Data Set for 2022-2023; current figures are the BigFuture fallback. NIU: NIU is test-optional and BigFuture reports no SAT/ACT data is available for it; no public NIU Common Data Set PDF was found online. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Illinois colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreUChicago reports a 1500 to 1560 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 4.5% of 45,533 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 34-35. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. UChicago admitted about 2,039 of 45,533 fall 2025 applicants; only 57% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score.
Northwestern reports a 1520 to 1560 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 7.5% of 52,676 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 34-35. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Northwestern offers no academic-merit scholarships at all; all institutional aid is need-based.
UIUC reports a 1390 to 1520 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 36.6% of 83,045 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 30-34. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.
Loyola Chicago reports a 1220 to 1390 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 75.1% of 43,954 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 26-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 39% of Loyola's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score, 15% an ACT score.
Illinois Tech reports a 1190 to 1400 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2023 (CDS 2023-24, C9)). It admitted 55.4% of 8,912 applicants (fall 2023 (CDS 2023-24)). The matching ACT range is 25-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional.
DePaul reports a 1150 to 1330 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 87.8% of 27,462 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 26-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 30% of DePaul's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score; the average high school GPA of those who submitted a GPA was 3.77.
UIC reports a 1030 to 1300 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26, C9)). It admitted 75.8% of 29,929 applicants (fall 2025 (CDS 2025-26)). The matching ACT range is 24-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only 47% of UIC's enrolled fall-2025 first-years submitted an SAT score, 4% an ACT score.
Illinois State reports a 1010 to 1210 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25, C9)). It admitted 88.1% of 21,573 applicants (fall 2024 (CDS 2024-25)). The matching ACT range is 21-27. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Only about 44% of Illinois State's enrolled fall-2024 first-years submitted an SAT score.
Bradley reports a 1030 to 1240 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024, CDS 2024-25 (CDS 2025-26 leaves C9 blank)). It admitted 74.6% of 8,539 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 24-30. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. Bradley's own Office of Institutional Effectiveness last posted a public Common Data Set for 2022-2023; current figures are the BigFuture fallback.
NIU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 71.2% of Not published applicants (BigFuture profile, year not stated). Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. NIU is test-optional and BigFuture reports no SAT/ACT data is available for it; no public NIU Common Data Set PDF was found online.
Illinois has no statewide SAT-cutoff cash scholarship; its best-known score-based distinction, the Illinois State Scholar designation, is honorary with no money attached, so real score-tied dollars come from individual universities' own competitive full-ride programs.
Stamps Scholarship (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign): Not a published cutoff (holistic: honors, leadership, essays). Covers tuition, fees, room and board in full, selected during the general admissions review.
Illinois State Scholar designation: 95th percentile ACT/SAT, or top half of class by 3rd semester senior year. Honorary distinction only; no monetary award is attached.
The Illinois State Scholar formula uses either a top-50% class rank through the 3rd semester of senior year, or a 95th-percentile ACT/SAT score; roughly the top 10% of each approved high school's graduates are named State Scholars annually, but it carries no scholarship funds.
UChicago, Northwestern, UIUC and Loyola Chicago are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.
No. Northwestern does not award academic-merit scholarships at all (apart from a small number of music-audition and ROTC awards); every other dollar of Northwestern institutional aid is need-based, regardless of SAT or ACT score.
No. Illinois has no state lottery-funded merit scholarship tied to an SAT cutoff; the closest statewide score-based recognition, the Illinois State Scholar designation, is honorary and pays no money.
Yes. Illinois pays for every public high school junior to take a state-mandated entrance exam during the school day as a graduation requirement; this was the SAT through 2023-24 and switched to the ACT with writing starting in 2024-25.
The enrolled fall-2025 middle 50% SAT range was 1500-1560 with a 34-35 ACT range, and only 57% of enrolled first-years submitted an SAT score at all under UChicago's test-optional policy.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: UChicago, Northwestern, UIUC, Loyola Chicago, Illinois Tech, DePaul, UIC, Illinois State, Bradley, NIU, Stamps Scholarship (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign), Illinois State Scholar designation. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Illinois specifically? See SAT prep in Illinois, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Illinois schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session