The University of Arkansas and most of the state's other public and private colleges (Arkansas State, UA Little Rock, Hendrix, John Brown, University of the Ozarks) are test-optional for fall 2027 applicants, but a score still matters for money: the University of Arkansas requires test scores on file by February 1 to be considered for most of its academic merit scholarships. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 7 colleges Arkansas families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Arkansas families can earn: Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship and University of Arkansas Honors College Academy Connection Scholarship.
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hendrix College | Not published | 23-31 | Not reported | Test-optional; scores considered if submitted |
| John Brown University | Not published | 21-28 | 76% | Test-optional for most applicants; required for some |
| University of Arkansas, Fayetteville | 1020-1210 · enrolled, fall 2025 (2025-26 CDS) | 21-28 | 73.9% · fall 2025 (2025-26 CDS) | Test-optional; scores required by Feb 1 to be considered for most academic merit scholarships |
| University of Arkansas at Little Rock | 980-1190 · enrolled, fall 2022, CDS 2022-23 (most recent posted) | 17-24 | 55.6% · fall 2022, CDS 2022-23 | See school |
| Arkansas State University | 950-1190 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | 18-24 | 78.2% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | See school |
| University of Central Arkansas | Not published | Not published | Not reported | See school |
| University of the Ozarks | 910-1180 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | 18-23 | 91.7% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26 | Test-optional; considered if submitted (74% of enrolled students submitted ACT, 26% SAT) |
| Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship | 990 (or ACT 19, or a 3.00+ high school GPA with any test score on record) | See program rules | $2,000/semester freshman year rising to $5,000/semester senior year at 4-year schools (plus up to $2,500/semester more under Challenge PLUS for lower-income students) over 4 years | A per-semester cash award that increases each year in school; renewal requires a 2.50 cumulative college GPA by the end of each spring semester |
| University of Arkansas Honors College Academy Connection Scholarship | Comparable to a 27 ACT (UArk's own stated floor; no SAT number published) | See program rules | Up to $4,000 (one-time) over 4 years | A one-time award tied to the Honors College's Academy Connection program; UArk's other freshman merit scholarships (Chancellor's, Silas Hunt, Advance Arkansas) no longer publish ACT/SAT cutoffs and are awarded holistically instead |
Cohort notes: U of Arkansas: The state flagship; pulled directly from UArk's own 2025-26 CDS Table C9, which publishes an SAT Composite line (1020-1210) separate from the section bands, so no composite was built by summing sections. 32,928 applied, 24,326 admitted (73.9%). Arkansas State: figures from College Board's BigFuture profile, not Arkansas State's own data; confirm cohort year. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Arkansas colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreHendrix does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. The matching ACT range is 23-31. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; scores considered if submitted.
John Brown does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 76% (latest cycle). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional for most applicants; required for some.
U of Arkansas reports a 1020 to 1210 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025 (2025-26 CDS)). It admitted 73.9% of 32,928 applicants (fall 2025 (2025-26 CDS)). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; scores required by Feb 1 to be considered for most academic merit scholarships. The state flagship; pulled directly from UArk's own 2025-26 CDS Table C9, which publishes an SAT Composite line (1020-1210) separate from the section bands, so no composite was built by summing sections. 32,928 applied, 24,326 admitted (73.9%).
UA Little Rock reports a 980 to 1190 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2022, CDS 2022-23 (most recent posted)). It admitted 55.6% of 2,775 applicants (fall 2022, CDS 2022-23). The matching ACT range is 17-24.
Arkansas State reports a 950 to 1190 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 78.2% of 10,233 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 18-24. figures from College Board's BigFuture profile, not Arkansas State's own data; confirm cohort year.
UCA does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class.
Ozarks reports a 910 to 1180 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 91.7% of 1,438 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 18-23. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; considered if submitted (74% of enrolled students submitted ACT, 26% SAT).
Arkansas runs the Academic Challenge Scholarship, a state lottery-funded award with a published ACT 19 / SAT 990 (or 3.00 GPA) qualifying floor that every Arkansas high schooler can use at any in-state college, while the University of Arkansas's own merit awards are now holistic rather than published SAT tiers, except for one Honors College award with a 27 ACT floor.
Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship: 990 (or ACT 19, or a 3.00+ high school GPA with any test score on record). A per-semester cash award that increases each year in school; renewal requires a 2.50 cumulative college GPA by the end of each spring semester.
University of Arkansas Honors College Academy Connection Scholarship: Comparable to a 27 ACT (UArk's own stated floor; no SAT number published). A one-time award tied to the Honors College's Academy Connection program; UArk's other freshman merit scholarships (Chancellor's, Silas Hunt, Advance Arkansas) no longer publish ACT/SAT cutoffs and are awarded holistically instead.
The Academic Challenge Scholarship's $2,000 freshman-year figure reflects the increase being phased in starting fall 2026; traditional (non-GPA-qualifying) students must have a qualifying test score from March 2016 or later for the SAT. UArk scholarship deadlines: test scores and transcripts by November 1, scholarship application by the November 15 priority deadline (final deadline February 1).
Hendrix and Ozarks are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. John Brown and U of Arkansas still require a score. And Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship is awarded on the SAT or ACT whatever the admissions policy.
You need an SAT of 990 or higher (or an ACT of 19), or a 3.00+ high school GPA with any test score on record. That qualifies you for a state-funded award that starts at $2,000 a semester as a freshman and rises to $5,000 a semester by senior year at a four-year Arkansas college.
No. The University of Arkansas is test-optional for admission. A score still helps for money though: UArk asks for test scores and transcripts by November 1 to be considered for its academic merit scholarships, even though those awards are now reviewed holistically rather than against a published SAT cutoff.
Yes, for 11th graders. Arkansas gives every public and charter school junior the chance to take the ACT with writing excluded, at their own school, at no cost, and the score can be used for college admission, scholarships, and NCAA eligibility.
Admitted students' middle-50% SAT was roughly 1030 to 1220 (ACT 21 to 28). UArk is test-optional, so that range reflects students who chose to submit a score, not a hard cutoff for admission.
Arkansas leans ACT because the state offers every junior a free school-day ACT, so most Arkansas students have an ACT score by default. The SAT counts exactly the same for the Academic Challenge Scholarship (990 SAT is the stated equivalent of a 19 ACT) and at every college in this list.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: Hendrix, John Brown, U of Arkansas, UA Little Rock, Arkansas State, UCA, Ozarks, Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship, University of Arkansas Honors College Academy Connection Scholarship. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Arkansas specifically? See SAT prep in Arkansas, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Arkansas schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session