For fall 2027 entry, none of Arizona's three public universities (University of Arizona, Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University) require the SAT or ACT; all three only consider scores if a student submits them, and ASU's own Common Data Set does not publish any SAT/ACT figures at all. The private options here (Grand Canyon University, Arizona Christian University, Embry-Riddle's Prescott campus, University of Advancing Technology) are all test-optional as well, though GCU and Arizona Christian weigh submitted scores in merit-scholarship tiers. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.
The table covers 8 colleges Arizona families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Arizona families can earn: GCU President Award and GCU Dean Award.
| School | SAT profile / cohort | ACT | Acceptance rate | Testing, fall 2027 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Prescott) | 1180-1370 · enrolled, fall 2022 (most recent Prescott-specific Common Data Set published) | 24-31 | 68.0% · fall 2022 | Not required for fall 2027 admission; recommended for scholarship consideration |
| University of Arizona | 1130-1340 · enrolled, fall 2024 | 21-28 | 86.1% · fall 2024 | Not required for fall 2027 admission; considered only if submitted |
| Northern Arizona University | 1010-1280 · enrolled, fall 2024 | 20-26 | 89.6% · fall 2024 | Not required for fall 2027 admission; considered only if submitted |
| Grand Canyon University | Not published | 19-24 | 60.36% | Test-optional; SAT, ACT, or unweighted GPA each qualify for a merit-scholarship tier |
| Arizona Christian University | Not published | Not published | Not reported | Test-optional; a 2.5 unweighted GPA alone starts the application |
| Prescott College | Not published | Not published | Not reported | SAT/ACT not used in admission |
| Arizona State University | Not reported · ASU's own 2024-25 Common Data Set leaves every SAT/ACT field blank | Not reported | 89.9% · fall 2024 | Not required for fall 2027 admission; ASU publishes no SAT/ACT data for its enrolled class |
| University of Advancing Technology | Not available | Not available | 91.5% | Test-optional; GPA, SAT/ACT, or a GED each count as one qualifying form of academic history |
| GCU President Award | 1410 | See program rules | ~$24,000 over 4 years | $6,000 per year if the student's SAT is 1410+ (or ACT 31+, or unweighted GPA 3.9+); any one of the three qualifies |
| GCU Dean Award | 1130 | See program rules | ~$16,000 over 4 years | $4,000 per year if the student's SAT is 1130-1294 (or ACT 22-26, or unweighted GPA 3.3-3.69); any one of the three qualifies |
Cohort notes: Embry-Riddle (Prescott): Embry-Riddle's Prescott campus posts the highest SAT range of any Arizona school here, but it does not require a test score for admission. University of Arizona: Only 11% of UArizona's enrolled fall 2024 class submitted an SAT score, per the university's own Common Data Set. NAU: NAU's biggest automatic merit award, the Lumberjack Scholars Award, runs on GPA (3.75-4.00), not a test score. GCU: GCU does not require a test score for admission, but its own merit grid pays more at a 1410 SAT than at a 1130 SAT. Arizona Christian: Arizona Christian is test-optional; its own admissions page says a 2.5 unweighted GPA is the entry bar, with SAT/ACT submitted only if it helps. Prescott College: Prescott College publishes no SAT range at all; its College Board acceptance-rate figure should be confirmed directly with the college before use. ASU: ASU's merit scholarships run on GPA and 'competencies' through an online estimator, not a published SAT cutoff. UAT: UAT is the least selective four-year school in this set and publishes no SAT range. These are not interchangeable measures.
Free tool
Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Arizona colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.
Find my teen's target scoreEmbry-Riddle (Prescott) reports a 1180 to 1370 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2022 (most recent Prescott-specific Common Data Set published)). It admitted 68.0% of 3,547 applicants (fall 2022). The matching ACT range is 24-31. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for fall 2027 admission; recommended for scholarship consideration. Embry-Riddle's Prescott campus posts the highest SAT range of any Arizona school here, but it does not require a test score for admission.
University of Arizona reports a 1130 to 1340 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024). It admitted 86.1% of 58,339 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 21-28. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for fall 2027 admission; considered only if submitted. Only 11% of UArizona's enrolled fall 2024 class submitted an SAT score, per the university's own Common Data Set.
NAU reports a 1010 to 1280 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2024). It admitted 89.6% of 35,100 applicants (fall 2024). The matching ACT range is 20-26. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for fall 2027 admission; considered only if submitted. NAU's biggest automatic merit award, the Lumberjack Scholars Award, runs on GPA (3.75-4.00), not a test score.
GCU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 60.36% of 47,978 applicants (latest cycle). The matching ACT range is 19-24. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; SAT, ACT, or unweighted GPA each qualify for a merit-scholarship tier. GCU does not require a test score for admission, but its own merit grid pays more at a 1410 SAT than at a 1130 SAT.
Arizona Christian does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; a 2.5 unweighted GPA alone starts the application. Arizona Christian is test-optional; its own admissions page says a 2.5 unweighted GPA is the entry bar, with SAT/ACT submitted only if it helps.
Prescott College does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: SAT/ACT not used in admission. Prescott College publishes no SAT range at all; its College Board acceptance-rate figure should be confirmed directly with the college before use.
ASU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 89.9% of 70,928 applicants (fall 2024). Testing for fall 2027: Not required for fall 2027 admission; ASU publishes no SAT/ACT data for its enrolled class. ASU's merit scholarships run on GPA and 'competencies' through an online estimator, not a published SAT cutoff.
UAT does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. It admitted 91.5% (latest cycle). Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional; GPA, SAT/ACT, or a GED each count as one qualifying form of academic history. UAT is the least selective four-year school in this set and publishes no SAT range.
Arizona has no statewide SAT-cutoff scholarship like Florida's Bright Futures; the clearest SAT-tied program in the state is Grand Canyon University's automatic merit grid, which pays more as a student's SAT (or ACT, or unweighted GPA) climbs.
GCU President Award: 1410 SAT. $6,000 per year if the student's SAT is 1410+ (or ACT 31+, or unweighted GPA 3.9+); any one of the three qualifies.
GCU Dean Award: 1130 SAT. $4,000 per year if the student's SAT is 1130-1294 (or ACT 22-26, or unweighted GPA 3.3-3.69); any one of the three qualifies.
GCU's academic scholarships are automatic (no separate application) once a student is admitted and submits transcripts; a student who qualifies on a test score still needs at least a 2.5 unweighted high school GPA to receive the award, and the Chancellor-level award specifically requires a 4.0 unweighted GPA rather than a test score. Awards are renewable for up to eight semesters while a student maintains GCU's Satisfactory Academic Progress standard. None of Arizona's three public universities (UArizona, ASU, NAU) currently publish a comparable SAT-tiered scholarship grid; their first-year merit awards are reviewed holistically on GPA and application history, not a score cutoff.
GCU, Arizona Christian and UAT are test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. A strong score is one more reason for a school to say yes, and a weak one can simply stay home.
There is no statewide SAT-cutoff scholarship in Arizona the way Florida has Bright Futures. The closest thing is Grand Canyon University's own merit grid: a 1410 SAT (or 31 ACT, or a 3.9+ unweighted GPA) earns GCU's President Award at $6,000 a year, about $24,000 over four years, and a 1130 SAT (or 22 ACT, or a 3.3 to 3.69 GPA) earns the Dean Award at $4,000 a year. Any one of the three measures qualifies on its own.
No. Neither school requires the SAT or ACT for fall 2027 admission, and both only consider a score if the student chooses to submit one. The University of Arizona's own Common Data Set shows just 11% of its enrolled fall 2024 class submitted an SAT score at all, and Arizona State University's Common Data Set leaves every SAT/ACT field blank.
Arizona gives the ACT, not the SAT, free to public high school students statewide during the school day, through the Arizona Department of Education. A student who needs an SAT score specifically, for a scholarship tier or a school that prefers it, still has to register and sit for the SAT on their own on a regular national test date.
Enrolled first-year students at the University of Arizona who submitted a score scored between 1130 and 1340 on the SAT in fall 2024, per the university's own Common Data Set, with a midpoint of 1240. Because the university doesn't require the test, this range reflects only the small share of admits who chose to submit scores.
NAU doesn't require the SAT or ACT either, but enrolled first-year students who submitted scores fell between 1010 and 1280 on the SAT in fall 2024, per NAU's own Common Data Set. NAU's largest automatic merit award, the Lumberjack Scholars Award, is based on a 3.75 to 4.00 GPA, not a test score, so a strong SAT alone will not unlock it.
No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.
University and state sources: Embry-Riddle (Prescott), University of Arizona, NAU, GCU, Arizona Christian, Prescott College, ASU, UAT, GCU President Award. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.
Want the plan for Arizona specifically? See SAT prep in Arizona, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.
Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Arizona schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.
Book your free Strategy Session