SAT Scores for Alaska Colleges, School by School (2026-27)

All three University of Alaska system campuses (UAF, UAA, UAS) are open or near-open admission for Alaska residents and do not require the SAT or ACT for undergraduate admission; UAF has explicitly not required test scores for any program since December 2023. Published score ranges describe a cohort; they are not admission cutoffs.

The table covers 5 colleges Alaska families apply to most, from the most selective to the large public universities. Read each cohort note before comparing numbers. The bottom rows show the score-based money Alaska families can earn: Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 1 and Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 2.

Alaska college score profiles and cohort notes

SchoolSAT profile / cohortACTAcceptance rateTesting, fall 2027
University of Alaska Fairbanks1050-1280 · enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-2618-2564.2% · fall 2025, CDS 2025-26Not required for any undergraduate program since Dec. 6, 2023
University of Alaska AnchorageNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedNot required for bachelor's-degree admission (not mentioned as a factor on UAA's first-year requirements page)
University of Alaska SoutheastNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Alaska Pacific UniversityNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedTest-optional
Alaska Bible CollegeNot publishedNot publishedNot reportedSee school
Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 11210See program rulesup to $28,000 over 4 years over 4 yearsUp to $7,000 per year; earned with a 3.5 cumulative high school GPA OR a 1210 SAT (OR 25 ACT, OR WorkKeys 18 with no sub-score below 6)
Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 21130See program rulesup to $21,000 over 4 years over 4 yearsUp to $5,250 per year; earned with a 3.0 GPA OR a 1130 SAT (OR 23 ACT, OR WorkKeys 15)

Cohort notes: UAF: UAF requires only a 2.5 cumulative high school GPA and the 16-credit core curriculum and does not require SAT/ACT scores for admission, but its College Board BigFuture profile reports a 1070-1310 SAT range reflecting what most enrolled students who did submit scores scored. UAA: UAA requires a minimum 2.5 high school GPA for bachelor's programs (2.0-2.5 may qualify for some programs) and does not list SAT/ACT as an admission requirement, but its College Board BigFuture profile reports a 1020-1210 SAT range for students who did submit scores. UAS: UAS states it 'strives to meet the educational needs of all Alaskans'; specific GPA and test-score admission criteria were not published on the page checked, and its College Board BigFuture profile states SAT information is not available for this college. APU: APU is Alaska's only private four-year university; its College Board BigFuture profile states 'SAT Information is not available for this college,' and no Common Data Set or official APU admissions page with a published SAT range was located. Alaska Bible: A small private Bible college in Palmer; its College Board BigFuture profile states 'SAT Range: Not available' and no official SAT data was located. These are not interchangeable measures.

Free tool

Which of these numbers is your teen's target? Pick the Alaska colleges on their list and get a target score and the gap from today's score in under a minute.

Find my teen's target score

School by school

University of Alaska Fairbanks: 1050 to 1280

UAF reports a 1050 to 1280 middle 50% SAT (enrolled, fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). It admitted 64.2% of 5,836 applicants (fall 2025, CDS 2025-26). The matching ACT range is 18-25. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for any undergraduate program since Dec. 6, 2023. UAF requires only a 2.5 cumulative high school GPA and the 16-credit core curriculum and does not require SAT/ACT scores for admission, but its College Board BigFuture profile reports a 1070-1310 SAT range reflecting what most enrolled students who did submit scores scored.

University of Alaska Anchorage: Not published

UAA does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Not required for bachelor's-degree admission (not mentioned as a factor on UAA's first-year requirements page). UAA requires a minimum 2.5 high school GPA for bachelor's programs (2.0-2.5 may qualify for some programs) and does not list SAT/ACT as an admission requirement, but its College Board BigFuture profile reports a 1020-1210 SAT range for students who did submit scores.

University of Alaska Southeast: Not published

UAS does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. UAS states it 'strives to meet the educational needs of all Alaskans'; specific GPA and test-score admission criteria were not published on the page checked, and its College Board BigFuture profile states SAT information is not available for this college.

Alaska Pacific University: Not published

APU does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. Testing for fall 2027: Test-optional. APU is Alaska's only private four-year university; its College Board BigFuture profile states 'SAT Information is not available for this college,' and no Common Data Set or official APU admissions page with a published SAT range was located.

Alaska Bible College: Not published

Alaska Bible does not publish a composite SAT range for its latest class. A small private Bible college in Palmer; its College Board BigFuture profile states 'SAT Range: Not available' and no official SAT data was located.

Where Alaska's scholarship scores sit

Alaska's state merit scholarship, the Alaska Performance Scholarship (APS), has three award tiers set by either a GPA or an SAT/ACT/WorkKeys score (whichever is better), worth up to $7,000 a year at a 1210 SAT.

Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 1: 1210 SAT. Up to $7,000 per year; earned with a 3.5 cumulative high school GPA OR a 1210 SAT (OR 25 ACT, OR WorkKeys 18 with no sub-score below 6).

Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 2: 1130 SAT. Up to $5,250 per year; earned with a 3.0 GPA OR a 1130 SAT (OR 23 ACT, OR WorkKeys 15).

A student qualifies by whichever is higher, their GPA tier or their test-score tier, not both at once; a student who graduated before the Class of 2024 is capped at the lower of the two if their GPA and score point to different levels. There is also a Level 3 tier (up to $3,500/year at a 2.5 GPA or 1060 SAT). Students must graduate from an Alaska high school, file a FAFSA, and attend an APS-eligible Alaska institution or program; awards require annual satisfactory academic progress.

The misconception: test optional means the SAT does not matter in Alaska

APU is test optional for fall 2027, so many families assume the score is irrelevant. The ranges above come from the students who chose to send one, and they sit well above the overall class. And Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 1 and Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 2 are awarded on the SAT or ACT whatever the admissions policy.

Quick answers

What SAT score do you need for the Alaska Performance Scholarship?

A 1210 SAT earns the top Level 1 award (up to $7,000 a year); a 1130 SAT earns Level 2 (up to $5,250 a year); and a 1060 SAT earns Level 3 (up to $3,500 a year). A student can also qualify on GPA alone (3.5, 3.0, or 2.5 for the three levels), and the scholarship uses whichever of GPA or test score places the student in the higher tier.

Does the University of Alaska Fairbanks require the SAT?

No. UAF has not required ACT or SAT scores for admission to any undergraduate degree program since December 6, 2023. Admission instead runs on a 2.5 minimum cumulative GPA and completion of the 16-credit high school core curriculum.

Does the SAT matter if Alaska's public universities don't require it?

Yes, for the money even when it is not required for admission. None of the three University of Alaska four-year campuses (UAF, UAA, UAS) require an SAT or ACT score to get in, but the Alaska Performance Scholarship still uses the SAT as one path to its three award tiers, worth $3,500 to $7,000 a year.

How does the average Alaska student score on the SAT?

Alaska's Class of 2026 SAT takers averaged 1093, but only 27% of the graduating class (2,416 students) took the SAT at all, so this average reflects a self-selected group, not the full class.

Are these ranges cutoffs?

No. A middle 50% describes the central half of the reported group, not an admission cutoff. Some rows describe enrolled students or score submitters only, as labeled. A position within a range does not guarantee admission or merit aid.

More for Alaska families

Sources

University and state sources: UAF, UAA, UAS, APU, Alaska Bible, Alaska Performance Scholarship, Level 1. Reviewed October 9, 2026. Cohorts and entry terms differ; confirm current requirements with each admissions office.

Want the plan for Alaska specifically? See SAT prep in Alaska, or turn your teen's current score and college list into a prep plan on a free Strategy Session: book yours here.

Which range is your teen actually in?

Free Strategy Session, 45 to 60 minutes. Their score today, the target for their Alaska schools, and the plan to close the gap. Yours to keep either way.

Book your free Strategy Session